RSS

All Decked Out

28 Apr

Life truly is about simple pleasures.

Three years ago, when we moved into our new house, we figured that in a few months, we would add a new patio and/or deck off of the back of our house. Well, being the procrastinators that we are and due to my unfortunate accident last summer, it just hadn’t been done….until now.

I wish that I could claim that this was a “weekend” project that me and Mr. D whipped up, but alas we are way too old and way too inept to produce such a fine relaxation platform, i.e., deck. Long ago, we realized that our lives are too short to be frustrated, so we needed really good jobs to pay other people to provide us with quality craftsmanship. So far, so good.

However, I will do the “landscaping” myself. The empty plant buckets are from the re-do of my front bed. Now it’s time to turn attention to the deck. It’s a bit sparse at the moment, but we’re working on a nice table and chairs with umbrella. Also, I have a few more potted plants to add, like a darling red maple and several large ferns to make it “just right”.

However, I’m more than just a little excited by our addition. It was basically finished on Friday, and we BBQ’d for three nights straight. We have so enjoyed the warm sunshine and soft breezes, basking in the twilight and listening to great old tunes while we braise a little mammal flesh. Ahhhhhh…..

A fitting tribute to our new relaxation platform.

We’ll Sing in the Sunshine, Gail Garnett

 
9 Comments

Posted by on April 28, 2008 in oldies, that's life

 

9 responses to “All Decked Out

  1. brc

    April 28, 2008 at 7:19 pm

    Ahhh… warm sunshine, soft breezes and grilled animal flesh. I wish.
    We had more snow today 😦

    The deck is absolutely beeeeuuuuuutiful!

     
  2. music maven

    April 28, 2008 at 7:48 pm

    Sneaux?!? Holy Moly, Batman. We’re having a bit of cold snap here, as well. High today was 75 with a night time low of 50. Brrrrrrr.

     
  3. kanniduba

    April 28, 2008 at 8:32 pm

    oh,oh,oh,oh, ohhhh!!!!!! It’s GORGEOUS!!!
    And you have copper post caps!!!! LOL
    Great minds think alike, no? 😉

    I am so excited for you!!! What a pretty home…all those windows were just BEGGING for a deck, weren’t they? You’ve inspired me!

     
  4. brc

    April 28, 2008 at 8:55 pm

    Ok the Gail Garnett video is hysterical. She looks like a bobble head doll with a bad hairdo. Bopping up and down but never really moving!

     
  5. Colette

    April 29, 2008 at 1:06 am

    Lovely roost, MM. I can just taste the gin & tonic (or is it the mojitos?) right now……

     
  6. shrewspeaks

    April 29, 2008 at 9:23 am

    Hammock…That deck cries for a hammock, some rum concocktion and a little Buffett

     
  7. Bama

    April 29, 2008 at 12:30 pm

    It’s so beautiful MM! I’m jellis! It’s the perfect deck for hanging with Mr. D and Mini D…OR for a fantastic party!!

    So, when do the invites go out??

    😉

     
  8. jenfera

    April 29, 2008 at 6:28 pm

    So purty! Your house looks lovely and the deck is the icing on the cake. Noice!

     
  9. thedingoateyobaby

    May 6, 2008 at 5:56 pm

    Late to the party but the deck is really quite beautiful and I wish you happy moments on it. Hug lots on that deck, tempest es fugit or something like that and I had forgotten about Gail Garnet’s “We’ll Sing In The Sunshine”. What a fabulous song that was and it reminds me of a time in my life when things seemed so simple for me and the livin’ was easy. Great memories and thanks for bringing that song from the dead. What a great tune and what a great performance. I had to go to You Tube for the performance cause your vid didnt work for me.

     

Leave a Reply

 
