RSS

Jazz Fest, Part Deux

02 May

So, this weekend is the final weekend of JazzFest in New Orleans. As I related in last week’s post, the schedule is jam-packed with talent. On Thursday, we missed Tower of Power, Betty LaVette, Ruby Wilson, and Widespread Panic, not to mention Steve Riley & The Mamou Playboys…and I imagine the hit of the night was Randy Newman’s Louisiana 1927.

Friday’s star-studded line-up includes: Brett Dennen, the incomparable John Prine, family favorite Theryl “The Houseman” deClouet and the great Little Stevie Wonder.

Livin’ for the City

On Saturday, the A T & T Blue Room will be broadcasting live from Jazz Fest. I watched it last year and it was a blast. If you’re looking for a little virtual entertainment this weekend, tune into The Blue Room. You might catch the Marcia Ball, Diana Krall, MM favorite Geno Delafose, Aaron Neville in the Gospel Tent, and the piece de resistance….the one, the only….Jimmy Buffett. Naturally, there will be thousands of Parrotheads rockin’ and a reelin’ to the consummate Gulf Coast Boy.

Margaritaville

Jazz Fest winds up on Sunday with Sonny Landreth, The Radiators, The Raconteurs, Keb Mo, and closes out with the Derek Trucks Band and the hometown reunion of The Neville Brothers.

Big Chief

I’m off to Philadelphia, MS for a little R&R, so have a great weekend and catch the The Blue Room broadcast, if you can.

Peace out.

 

6 responses to “Jazz Fest, Part Deux

  1. Mark deClouet

    May 2, 2008 at 7:19 pm

    This is a little embarrassing, but I’ve never heard that Randy Neuman song. I’ve never even heard of Randy Newman, but he’s now on my itunes playlist. Thanks for the continual introduction to great music that I should be aware of.

    Enjoy your weekend.

     
  2. Shrewspeaks

    May 2, 2008 at 7:42 pm

    I got very excited when I read Philadelphia…then I saw MS…oh well. Have a great weekend my bud!

     
  3. morewines

    May 2, 2008 at 10:10 pm

    MM,

    Sorry to hear that you missed Tower of Power.
    I have seen them a couple of times. The horns
    are great.

    I have Betty LaVette’s latest CD. “Scene of the Crime”. One great CD. I posted an article
    on another site. The article is no longer
    available on the newspaper’s Website. Here
    is a link to where I posted the article. Hope
    you don’t mind MM.
    “Never too old to be discovered”
    http://www.c2wspeakeasy.com/c2w/viewtopic.php?t=163

    Wish I had time for virtual entertainment this
    weekend, but I will be attending a wine country
    festival packed full of good live music.

    Have fun MM.

     
  4. music maven

    May 4, 2008 at 5:45 pm

    Mark — Here’s a little more on the great songwriter Randy Newman

    You’ve heard alot of his stuff in Disney movies, you just didn’t know it was him…

    morewines — Thanks for the Bettye link.

     
  5. Mark deClouet

    May 4, 2008 at 7:40 pm

    I can’t believe he just played in Lafayette (April 28), and I missed it…unbelievable. Maybe next time.,

    Thanks for the link!

     
  6. shoeaddict

    May 7, 2008 at 11:55 am

    My SIL and some friends came down this weekend from GA for the Jazz Fest. They came to see Jimmy Buffett. We went for Widespread Panic two years ago.

     

Leave a Reply

 
