RSS

R.I.P. Eddy Arnold

08 May

 

The music world lost another all-time great today as Eddy Arnold passed away at the age of 89, just a week shy of his 90th birthday.  His wife of 66 years just passed away in March and I suppose, like most older folks he sort of lost his will to recover from a fall that broke his hip.

With a career spanning seven decades, Eddy Arnold was a pioneer of “the Nashville Sound”, and was instrumental in helping traditional Country & Western cross-over into Pop Music.  He is the second all-time hit leader of Country Music, second only to Ole Possum Eyes — George Jones.

Some of Eddy Arnold’s best known hits of his 28 #1s are:

  Make the World Go Away

  What’s He Doin’ in My World?

  Bouquet of Roses

and here’s some extra-special twang, just for Shrew.

  I Walk Alone

Another music great passes on.  Sadly, there are few to replenish the stock.

TODAY’s TRIVIA:  Eddy Arnold was once managed by Colonel Tom Parker, the slippery circus barker that ruined Elvis.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on May 8, 2008 in Country, memorials, music legends

 

4 responses to “R.I.P. Eddy Arnold

  1. shrewspeaks

    May 8, 2008 at 8:28 pm

    Hey…even I own one song of this musical great

    What Shrew Owns

     
  2. Little Deb

    May 9, 2008 at 7:55 am

    Good morning MM. Thanks so much for the tribute – Mr. Arnold deserves it. Sad news. He is one of my all time favorites. I grew up listening to all his stuff (really my first introduction to country music). I’m teary eyed this morning – another legend. It’s funny because I was going to e-mail you this morning and ask if you would do a tribute. Great Libra minds I guess. The most special Eddy Arnold song for me is a Christmas song. It was on an album called “Christmas with Eddy Arnold”. I’ve tried to find the album, but it’s no longer being made. The song is called Christmas Can’t Be Far Away. Every Christmas growing up I would bake cookies with my Mom and my Aunt Margie (who passed a few years ago). We weren’t allowed to start until Aunt Margie put “the” Eddy Arnold album on. You’re right about few to replenish the stock. I think this George Jones song says it perfectly. Warning for shrew, it’s really really twangy.

    Whose Gonna Fill Their Shoes

     
  3. AH

    May 9, 2008 at 12:43 pm

    Little Deb, someone clued me into this site for hard to find things a while ago.

    Christmas With Eddy Arnold CD
    http://www.cduniverse.com/productinfo.asp?pid=6991796

    This links to a different album but it has “Christmas Can’t Be Far Away” and can listen to the full song – if haven’t used the site before it will walk you though it.
    http://www.rhapsody.com/eddyarnold/christmastime

     
  4. Little Deb

    May 9, 2008 at 4:09 pm

    AH, you’ve got me crying. It’s the one at CD Universe. I just ordered it. I still have the album cover, just lost the album years ago. You don’t know how long I’ve been looking for this. I’ve called all kinds of used record stores. Called Ernest Tubbs Record Store in Nashville and was told it was out of print and there was no way to get it. You totally made my day. Thanks so so much. And thanks MM for this topic cause without you and AH I would never have found it. That story above is my favorite Christmas memory of all.

     

Leave a Reply

 
