RSS

Feelin’ Jimmy

29 May

It’s almost here. Mini-DD’s final exams are nearing completion and tomorrow will mark the official start of summer in our house. It all has me feeling a little Jimmy.

Living on the Gulf Coast, Jimmy Buffett music captures most of the emotions of this “summertime” area. Now, people can dismiss Jimmy as superficial, but I wholeheartedly disagree. Many of his songs have significant meaning and certainly kun-NECK with the listener.

Like the wonderful Pirate Looks at Forty. (with a special message for JenW)

This song captures the feeling of many of us who have to live within an hour of water. For me, I HAVE to spend at least a week each year on the shore, just sitting and staring out into the waves and water contemplating my navel and re-grouping and re-charging to face the challenges of everyday life for another extended period. Pirate Looks at Forty is one of those songs that I play while sitting there at sunset, having a glass of wine and totally relating to the song.

Another Jimmy song that became a favorite in recent years is Trip Around the Sun, done with Country artist Martina McBride.

Again, more navel gazing lyrics but music is very reflective for me and this song conveys the emotions around getting older and the years passing and getting to a certain level of acceptance with that process. Besides, I like the melody.

In Changes in Latitudes, Jimmy gives us more reflection wrapped in a bit of humor. Perhaps part of the reason his music kun-NECKs, is because it’s honest, and it’s him. Jimmy Buffett is always playing for a few hundred (or hundred thousand) friends. Friends who know every word of every song.

I’m looking forward to our annual beach trek in a few weeks. A week chock full of beautiful sunsets, fruity drinks, navel gazing and a little FloraBama.

 

10 responses to “Feelin’ Jimmy

  1. Little Deb

    May 29, 2008 at 9:15 am

    Hey there MM. You know I have to show up for Pirate Looks at Forty. It always takes me to the days when we would go sailing with friends for a week or two around the out islands of the Bahamas. Sigh.

    AH introduced me to this song. Don’t know if the link thing will work though. If not, maybe AH can post it here.

    Growing Older But Not Up

    http://www.box.net/encoded/14749960/152852848/2fcdb3d8322f7966d7ca389de083e431

     
  2. shrewspeaks

    May 29, 2008 at 9:39 am

    Oh Buffett can totally pull the heart strings…

    Survive

    Was a mainstay when I was in a long distance relationship in my 20s. I was living in Virginia making next to nothing at Colonial Williamsburg. Seriously, I ate hot dog soup. Anyway, I was dating a guy back home in NJ. The lyrics of this song just seemed to capture the moment of me sitting in my teeny tiny apartment waiting for the phone to ring and have hour long chats with “HIM”. It was 1997 and neither of us had free long distance so those calls meant an investment in the relationship.

    Survive

    “I play the stereo loud
    When I’m away from the maddening crowd
    Smokin’, jokin’, clowns we all are

    Sometimes I kinda get real ill
    When I receive my monthly telephone bill
    But you say it and I’ll pay it
    `Cause it helps me to

    [Chorus:]
    Survive stay alive
    ‘Til I see you again
    Survive stay alive
    Can’t say where it ends

    Clouds lift and there are mountains below
    Been a while since I’ve seen any snow
    Chillin’ so thrillin’ so good to be back

    Feels nice to be home for a while
    Let’s sip champagne til we break into smiles
    We’ll go dancin’ romancin’
    `Cause your the reason I
    Survived stayed alive
    Through the thick and the thin
    Survive stay alive
    When will it all end

    But my bags ain’t unpacked
    `Cause I’ve got to go back and play
    But I know we’ll both

    Survive stay alive
    Through the thick and the thin
    Survive stay alive
    Until it all ends

    Survive stay alive
    When will it all end
    Survive stay alive
    Till I see you again”

    What happened you may ask? I moved home and we broke up.

    At least I still have Jimmy.

     
  3. Amy deClouet

    May 29, 2008 at 9:52 am

    Dawn! This post made me sooo nastalgic for the beach! Things have been absolutely chaotic around here…it would be nice to slip away to the shore, throw on some Jimmy, and enjoy a frosty NON-ALCOHOLIC beverage! If I may be so presumptuous…I have also found Kenny Chesney to have that “Jimmy” vibe! I love to lose myself to these two on the beach. There is nothing more relaxing! A few good ones for you to ponder….

    This one reminds me alot of Jimmy’s “A pirate looks at 40”

    And my favorite….

     
  4. music maven

    May 29, 2008 at 7:53 pm

    Shrew —

    Survive is one of my all-time, Top 25 songs. When I hear it, I immediately go back to my room, complete with shag carpeting and the 10th grade when my af-FECK-shuns for a good friend were unrequited and the loneliness of being a quasi-only child caused much angst.

    Buffett is truly a master.

     
  5. music maven

    May 29, 2008 at 7:54 pm

    Ames — you are very ko-RECK. Kenny is the new Jimmy. Thank you for an inspiration and per-FECK bridge to another thought.

     
  6. Shrewspeaks

    May 29, 2008 at 7:58 pm

    I must say…

    Jimmy is this side of -Twang- While Kenny is on this side

    And there lies the reason why I own Jimmy and not Kenny

    But after a listen, Amy, I can certainly see if one is not twang adverse how Kenny’s lyrics hit the same emotional chords as Jimmy.

     
  7. kanniduba

    May 30, 2008 at 8:00 am

    Now this was my first introduction to Jimmy Buffett at the young innocent age of 18—Zan and I worked as counselors at a residential summer camp for developmentally disabled adults. All the counselors were college aged, and on our nights off we would go to this divey backwoods bar and take over the pool table and the jukebox. This was the favorite. 🙂

    Imagine my sweet mother’s face when we had the DJ play it at our wedding, and the huge crowd of campies ran to the center of the dance floor, to lock arms and belt out this song! Oh, the things she never knew…….lol

     
  8. Ricardo

    May 31, 2008 at 8:11 am

    MM,

    I wholeheartedly agree with your post. If anyone digs deeper, they’ll find deep feelings and meanings in Buffett’s music.

    I love the ideas behind “One Particular Harbour.” Although I cannot live out the dream of this song, it nonetheless is still a dream for me:


    or, if you like, this newer version:

    Like Amy, I too love Kenny’s music. If Jimmy ever retires (please don’t, and if the latest tour’s title is any key, he won’t for some time ~ “The Still Here Tour”), Chesney is the heir apparent to the Tropical Throne. My fave is also her fave, but it bears repeating:


    with the narrative,

    or cashing in, with the corporate tie-in (ala’ Jimmy):

    I must say I love the “Ocean Mix” of that song the most. Much like I really enjoy the end of Buffett concerts when it’s Jimmy and his acoustic and although I’m among 45,000 people, it’s like he’s on the porch overlooking the ocean, and singing for a few friends.

     
  9. music maven

    May 31, 2008 at 8:37 am

    Exactly, Ricardo, exactly.

    Thanks for the comment. OPH is another great Buffett anthem. By far, Jimmy’s concerts are worth every penny you pay and I suspect (based on Amy’s glowing reviews), so are Kenny Chesney’s.

     
  10. Shan

    January 1, 2009 at 3:52 pm

    Awesome.

     

Leave a Reply

 
