RSS

Mamma Mia!….No ABBA Reunion

09 Jul

Hopes of a reunion of the great ABBA were dashed this week when Benny and Bjorn unequivocally denied rumors of a seventilicious confab of the enigmatic Swedish songbirds.

Over the years, the quartet has reportedly turned down $1billion (yes, that’s a “b”) for a reunion tour.  Tthe disco-era fab four won’t hear of reuniting, stating that money is not a factor.  Perhaps some of the recent “reunion” tour bands should take heed to observe Benny’s recent quote on the matter:

“We would like people to remember us as we were, young, exuberant and full of ambition.”

Agnetha and Anni-Frid joined Benny and Bjorn at the Swedish premier of the new movie, Mamma Mia — based on the hit musical — and were rightly impressed with the vocal styling of ex-James Bond, Pierce Brosnan.

Ok. Mamma Mia features 22 Abba songs!! In addition to Remington Steele, Oscar-winner Meryl Streep is part of the ensemble cast along with Christine Baranski and the erstwhile Brit, Colin Firth.  It seems that the language of ABBA is, indeed, universal.

Of course, this is not the first movie to feature the music of the great ABBA.  Their music has been featured in no less than 25 other movies (go figure), including Muriel’s Wedding, I Now Pronounce You Chuck and Larry, and most recently, the remake of Get Smart.

While ABBA is immortalized on the big screen, back in the real world there will be no Dancing Queen reprise…unless you count mindless covers by would be pretenders

Thankfully, through the magic of MTV and VH-1, we still have these “real deal” gems, captured for posterity.

Fernando

  Take A Chance On Me

  Knowing Me, Knowing You

  S.O.S

  Waterloo

Vinnaren tar allt det!

 

25 responses to “Mamma Mia!….No ABBA Reunion

  1. music maven

    July 9, 2008 at 8:13 pm

    You never cease to amaze me.

     
  2. Shrewspeaks

    July 10, 2008 at 8:37 am

    You know…I listened to ABBA all the way to work this morning. It’s just happy music. Some would say vapid…but I enjoyed it. In fact, I am in a pretty good mood.

    “if you change you mind, I’m the first in line…”

     
  3. music maven

    July 10, 2008 at 1:20 pm

    You are koRECK. Their music is fun without being cheesy. It’s evident that MILLIONs of people agree.

    Side note: Thanks for posting a comment, dear Shrewster. Perhaps it’s the summer doldrums, but I get the impression that NO-ONE IS LISTENING!

     
  4. Shrewspeaks

    July 10, 2008 at 2:06 pm

    I am listening…and I care…and I am having fun.

     
  5. Colette

    July 10, 2008 at 4:29 pm

    OK Miss Maven — and you gave me a hard time about David Cook?

    Oh well, it’s a generational thing. Each one has its own special schlock, and I admit that ABBA ain’t mine!

    Tho I am among those anticipating the movie, sort of, mainly because I worship Meryl Streep — and hate her for having the most flawless, youthful skin of any man or woman over 40.

     
  6. Colette

    July 10, 2008 at 4:29 pm

    And one more thing, MM.

    “without being cheesy.”

    Pul-eeze! It may be Scandinavian, but baby it’s still Velveeta…..

     
  7. music maven

    July 10, 2008 at 7:51 pm

    Well, perhaps there’s a few holes in it.

    David Cook has a LONG way to go before he can be even talked about in the same conversation as the great ABBA.

    Thanks to you and Shrew for playing, though.

     
  8. Colette

    July 11, 2008 at 12:51 am

    LOL — Mr. Cook and ABBA on tour together! that would be a trip!

    I do think an ABBA night on Idol would make sense. just as long as I have fair warning….

     
  9. Shrewspeaks

    July 11, 2008 at 5:57 am

    Okay ladies…which would be worse?

    Isolation booth with ABBA pumped in for 24 hours straight,

    or

    Isolation booth with BayCity Rollers pumped in for 24 hours?

    Despite my scottish roots, I would have to go with the Sweds on this one.

     
  10. music maven

    July 11, 2008 at 7:09 am

    Yeah, at least ABBA has a plethora of hits to provide variety. I don’t know if I could take Saturday Night, for 24 hours over and over and over.

     
  11. shrewspeaks

    July 11, 2008 at 10:19 pm

    Okay…same game but this time Abba vs Journey…I don’t know..I am torn.

     
  12. music maven

    July 12, 2008 at 7:33 am

    Now, wait a minute. Journey? You are kidding, right?

    You cannot compare ABBA and Journey. Steve Perry Journey. The Journey of my youth.

    I will have to illustrate, me thinks.

     
  13. shrewspeaks

    July 12, 2008 at 9:19 am

    Heehee…

     
  14. Colette

    July 12, 2008 at 11:12 am

    Out of my depth here, ladies! Journey. ABBA. Same torture as far as I’m concerned!

    OK, so it’s my turn in this game to up the ante with the kind of aural Cheez Whiz that I could tolerate — or that would be enough to make me spill state secrets to enemy Martians.

    Hmmm….How about psychedelic rock? I mean, not the Grateful Dead or the Airplane, but the real crap, like this immortal cut (complete with lightshow):

     
  15. AH

    July 12, 2008 at 3:11 pm

    Hey, I like that song – it’s got great cowbell ! ! 🙂

    Now this would turn a brain to mush in record time

     
  16. AH

    July 12, 2008 at 3:14 pm

    OMG !! – – I got nothing to add – LOL

    Break over . . . .

     
  17. Colette

    July 12, 2008 at 6:48 pm

    No fair AH! That was one of those so-terrible-he-was-wonderful acts, not someone who ANYONE, EVER, ANYWHERE thought was half-way decent.

    all right, tho, let’s see how much of a dinosaur you are! did you watch Mr. Tim’s wedding to Miss Vickie, on the Johnny Carson Show? One of the more surreal events, musically and otherwise, in American cultural history:

    can’t find it on youtube (thank God), but you are not spared!!

     
  18. music maven

    July 12, 2008 at 8:33 pm

    I was 5, but distinctly remember the Tiny Tim wedding.

    For many reasons, this would be my purgatory.

     
  19. shrewspeaks

    July 13, 2008 at 9:39 am

    And this is my purgatory


    I was too Tiny to stay up and see Tiny Tim’s wedding, bt I do remember getting Tiny Tim confused with this guy. My sister’s who are much older than me were in HS and College at the time impressed on my how different the two were!

     
  20. music maven

    July 13, 2008 at 10:35 am

    Now see, I have a real soft spot for Afternoon Delight. It’s nostalgic and I have a kun-NECk-shun with that song, so I love it.

    BWAHAHAHAHA on the Alice Cooper. I can see how a youngster would get them confused, however.

     
  21. dahandahan

    August 14, 2008 at 5:49 pm

    well, Chiquitita…..If you guys change your mind about touring, ……i/ll be the first in line.

     
  22. wamy

    December 31, 2009 at 4:40 am

    wow abba is so ccccccccccoooooooooooooollll………..

     
  23. luiz carlos silva araujo

    April 29, 2010 at 6:34 am

    eu quero musicas do abba

     
  24. Sophie

    June 6, 2010 at 3:45 am

    I don’t really like Abba O.O
    I did see an Abba coverband once though; Abbacadabra :p

     

Leave a Reply

 
