RSS

Rate a Record….Teddy Thompson

28 Jul

Back by popular demand….RATE-A-RECORD!!

Here’s how it works.  Listen to the featured track and then give your rating on a scale from 1 to 5 with 5 being highest.  I’ll compile everyone’s feedback into an average score and do a follow up post featuring your comments in addition to my own feedback.

Today’s submission is Teddy Thompson, son of folk rock legends, Rick and Linda Thompson.  (And no, she wasn’t engaged to Elvis.)  Rick & Linda were authentic hippies who raised young Teddy in an English commune.  (I know, oxymoron.)  Somebody sent me a heads up on Teddy and I’ve been checking him out.

Teddy recently released his new CD, A Piece of What You Need.  Teddy emerged from a back-up singer for Rufus Wainwright, who can be seen in a cameo in the video as Elvis rockin’ the organ.

So, without further adeui, Teddy Thompson and In My Arms:

 
25 Comments

Posted by on July 28, 2008 in Emerging Artists, rate a record

 

25 responses to “Rate a Record….Teddy Thompson

  1. shrewspeaks

    July 28, 2008 at 7:00 pm

    3

    I like the song but Teddy’s voice is kinda of mellow for my taste. This would be a big summer hit if someone with more of an edge to his voice sang his…imagine a Joe Cocker or Eric Burden singing this song.

     
  2. shrewspeaks

    July 28, 2008 at 7:02 pm

     
  3. music maven

    July 29, 2008 at 7:34 am

    Speaking of Marc Broussard, a birdy told me that he’s opening for Sharon Jones & The Dap Kings. NOICE, no?

    Here’s an excellent interview with Ms. Jones…

    http://seattletimes.nwsource.com/html/thearts/2008071472_sharon27.html

     
  4. shrewspeaks

    July 29, 2008 at 8:53 am

    NOW THAT is a show I want to see.

     
  5. somebody

    July 29, 2008 at 10:58 am

    Tangent much?

    Q: What do you think of TT?
    A: OK, what do you think of XYZ?
    A: Or W?
    A: I like W.

    What sets Teddy apart from other singer/songwriters is the music frankly. When was the last time you heard the Farfisa organ beat in the break? The whole record is like that – unexpected musical flourishes which add greatly to the overall package. Frankly, I like the mellow simplicity of Teddy’s voice.

     
  6. Colette

    July 29, 2008 at 11:41 am

    What’s not to like about Teddy? He’s a got a very cool voice, with a little bit of great Thompson flavor. He’s adorable. The song is catchy, and not full of platitudes.

    Thanks for turning me on to him. I think he’s got somethin’.

    we were just talking yesterday about how not all kids of great great pop musicians can make it themselves, musically. Teddy could be an exception. Rufus definitely is!

    Here’s a little more about Sharon Jones’ Seattle gig, by the way:

    http://seattletimes.nwsource.com/html/musicnightlife/2008078173_sharon29.html

     
  7. ivoryhut

    July 29, 2008 at 12:29 pm

    I actually kinda like that it’s mellow. I bought his Separate Ways album last year, and couldn’t stop listening to I Wish It Was Over. Really simple song, but it works.

    Jools likes him too. I Wish It Was Over is the second song in that clip.

     
  8. music maven

    July 29, 2008 at 1:06 pm

    Somebody, I take that as a 4.

    Colette and Ivory…I need a rating, please.

     
  9. music maven

    July 29, 2008 at 1:17 pm

    “When was the last time you heard the Farfisa organ beat in the break?”

    Um, not exactly Farfisa, but Hammond B nonetheless…

    Tangent much…

     
  10. somebody

    July 29, 2008 at 1:29 pm

    Ok, now that is freaky. Yes, 4 for me. It’s hard for me to resist a guy who sings a cover of “She Thinks I Still Care” – my dad sang this when I was growing up. George Jones.

     
  11. shrewspeaks

    July 29, 2008 at 1:51 pm

    Okay, I stand alone on not liking his voice on this song. I don’t deny that the music is strong…just believe that if someone else sang it it would catch on to larger sphere…I stand behind my 3.

    and like Broussard

    and being tangental (an underated asset)

     
  12. Amy

    July 29, 2008 at 1:54 pm

    D,
    I haven’t tooned in lately and all of a sudden the whole page is different! Like the new look…..was just a little bit startled! I thought the maven had hung up her you tube clips and retired! Glad to see you’re still kickin’

     
  13. ivoryhut

    July 29, 2008 at 2:28 pm

    Sorry, I totally forgot to actually rate the record. That’d be a 4 for me, and no, I’m not copying somebody’s answer.

     
  14. Colette

    July 29, 2008 at 3:22 pm

    I’d say 4 too.

     
  15. jenfera

    July 29, 2008 at 7:42 pm

    I’m going to jump right out and give it a 5. It’s a fun song and I really like his voice. It is clear and clean. Actually reminds me a bit of a young Jackson Browne.

     
  16. brc

    July 30, 2008 at 10:55 pm

    I know you want us to be honest, but I appear to be in the minority here… I hated it.

    I give it a 2 only because he has a pleasant voice. I thought it was very repetitive and I hate to disagree with ‘somebody,’ but those background instrumentals with the organ made me feel like I was on a bad carnival ride.

    Oh well. Different strokes for different folks.

     
  17. Colette

    July 30, 2008 at 11:36 pm

    How true! but it’s fun to compare notes.

    and by the way, somebody, one of the fun things for me about this particular music blog is that MM doesn’t rule with an iron hand and goes with the flow — we get to digress and go on tangents, as long as we’re talking and sharing music. which is such a treat!

     
  18. somebody

    July 31, 2008 at 10:17 am

    i’ll allow for digressing onto digressions, or something.

     
  19. skyblue

    July 31, 2008 at 3:34 pm

    Hello, I thought I would de-lurk for a moment just to show some love for Teddy Thompson! (The new layout looks great btw.)
    I’ve been hearing this on the radio quite often lately, and although I don’t think it’s as immediate as some of his other songs, it is a bit of a grower. That opening drumbeat really grabs your attention.
    The only other thing I would say is: beautiful voice, talented songwriter, terrible dancer, Lol.

    You might already have heard of him from the “Brokeback Mountain” soundtrack:

    There’s also a collaboration with Rufus Wainwright on there, “King of the Road”.
    I think the Wainwright and Thompson families have been friends for many years and they often perform on each other’s records.

    Here’s a few others you might enjoy:

    ‘Aint No Sunshine

    I Sould Get Up

    Persuasion

    The combination of Richard and Teddy’s voices just works so well on here, and it’s such a gorgeous song. It always makes me melt a little bit whenever I hear this one.

    I hope that wasn’t too many links!

     
  20. skyblue

    July 31, 2008 at 3:39 pm

    Oops sorry! I’ll give it a 4.
    (but one of those points was for Rufus’ dancing.)

     
  21. jenfera

    July 31, 2008 at 7:59 pm

    testing

     
  22. Colette

    August 1, 2008 at 1:00 am

    Thank you for the cuts — “Persuasion” is lovely! It’s great we have these singing clans — the Thompsons, the Wainwrights…..

     
  23. JenAdams

    August 1, 2008 at 7:50 pm

    Testing again – using a different name

     
  24. AH

    August 2, 2008 at 2:41 am

    Have been away for a while and was wondering if I got redirected for a second or two – – so when did the metamorphosis occur ?

    Watched once – then listened only – just audio wasn’t a big success. I like his voice – I like the song – I will check out more of his stuff – But – I thought he sounded almost bored and I definitely was – so will spot him a 3 for now.

     
  25. Alex

    August 12, 2008 at 6:34 pm

    I found your site on technorati and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. I just added your RSS feed to my Google News Reader. Looking forward to reading more from you down the road!

     

Leave a Reply

 
