RSS

Rate A Record: In My Arms – Teddy Thompson…3.8

31 Jul

Thanks to all who rated and commented on the Teddy Thompson Rate A Record.  I appreciate all of the discussion and honesty.

Overall, Teddy rates a 3.8 at Music Maven.  The average in the comments was 3.7 and I skewed the rating just a little higher, due to the George Jones cover.

Some comments:

I like the song but Teddy’s voice is kinda of mellow for my taste. This would be a big summer hit if someone with more of an edge to his voice sang it.

Frankly, I like the mellow simplicity of Teddy’s voice.

The song is catchy, and not full of platitudes.

I actually kinda like that it’s mellow…. Really simple song, but it works.

I thought it was very repetitive….those background instrumentals with the organ made me feel like I was on a bad carnival ride.

Personally, I really like the song.  But, more because I love the Traveling Wilburys.  When I first listened to this song, I was like who is that…it’s oddly familiar…wait a minute…oh, yeah!….

  You Got It, Roy Orbison

with a dash of:

  Dwight Yoakam

and of course, the influences of Dylan, Petty and Harrison, as well:

  Handle with Care, The Traveling Wilburys

or maybe more appropriately:

  The Wilbury Twist, The Traveling Wilburys

Regardless, Teddy seems to be combining a little folk with a little country and a little old school rock and even a little soul.  THAT, is something I can’t help but like.

As skylight mentioned in comments, Teddy does a mean Ain’t No Sunshine:

But, the one that puts me over the top is the fantabulous Roger Miller staple, King of the Road.  As Teddy’s George Jones cover, She Thinks I Still Care, King of the Road takes me back to my Dad’s endearing rendition some 40 summers ago.  I abosultely LOVE the song and the duet with Rufus Wainwright is simply delightful.

  King of the Road, Teddy Thompson with Rufus Wainwright

Teddy is a nice reminder that there are still new artists out there that appreciate music across various genres, even those of yesteryear.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 31, 2008 in Emerging Artists, rate a record

 

One response to “Rate A Record: In My Arms – Teddy Thompson…3.8

  1. AH

    August 2, 2008 at 3:19 am

    Like Mr. Thompson better on these songs MM but still not a 4 I’m afraid. Now the Wilburys – how about a 10+ They’re always in the CD case when I head down I95 to civilization ! Suppose a crack about Traveling would be in order but . . . . :[

     

Leave a Reply

 
