RSS

She’s a Woman!

29 Aug

Oh yeah.

John McCain has announced his Vice Presidential running mate and it is power WOMAN, Sarah Palin, Governor of Alaska.

Now, tell me that this lady does not look like one of your best friends. 

I usually do not explicitly express my political views on this sight because it really is about the music, BUT…I generally try to weave the music into current day happenings.  And, for women in America today, this is a HUGE happening.

This is only the second time a woman has been nominated for VP and the first time that a woman has a LEGITIMATE shot at being Vice President.  I’ll admit that I’m not a huge McCain fan.  While I admire his service to our country, his “maverick” streak of independence, and his stubborness against conforming to the norm, there’s just always been something a little standoffish about the man.  However, today Mr. McCain showed his progressiveness, open-mindedness and respect for smart people.

And, make no mistake about it, Sarah Palin is smart.  But what I really like about her is that she’s also REAL.  Most of the politicians in Washington, including Mr. Obama, don’t know about real life and working for a living.  Sarah Palin comes from a middle class upbringing, her husband is a pro snowmobiler, and she is MY AGE.  Hallejuah.  A young (relatively), smart woman who has REAL life experiences.  If you don’t believe me, try these on for size:

  • She is the daughter of two teachers who left Idaho to teach in Alaska in the mid ’60s.
  • She has FIVE, count ’em, FIVE children ranging in age from 19 to 4 months.
  • Her oldest son, Track, is in the U.S. Army and will deploy to Iraq this month.
  • Cool kids names:  Track, Bristol, Willow, Piper and Trig.
  • She surprised everyone in late February, announcing that she was SEVEN MONTHS pregnant with her 5th child.
  • That child was born with Downs Syndrome.
  • She went back to work THREE days after giving birth.
  • She’s an avid hunter who used to go moose hunting before school.
  • She recently posed in a photo spread in Vogue.
  • She has a remarkable resemblence to Tina Fey.

As for the prospect of her being vice president, Palin told Larry Kudlow that she could not answer the question of whether she wanted the job “until somebody answers for me what is it exactly that the VP does every day. I’m used to being very productive and working real hard in an administration. We want to make sure that that VP slot would be a fruitful type of position, especially for Alaskans and for the things that we’re trying to accomplish up here.”

In other words, don’t waste my time with a “token woman” position….if you ain’t serious, I’ll just stay here and get some real work done.  This is a new day, a new opportunity.  Finally, a peer of my own generation who I can actually relate to is in the mix.  Bravo!, Mr. McCain for having the cahonas to do what many folks give lip service to.  As a mother, working woman, and wife, Sarah Palin certainly has a grasp of the issues that we are all facing and the ones that are most important.  Her unique understanding of the war in Iraq, education challenges and the complexities of the oil issue will truly provide the McCain ticket with a hard-working, contributing partner and not just a figure head.

However, it’s the understanding of having a handicap child that really resonates with me.  This kind of situation puts many issues into perspective.  Having a handicapped sibling and mother, I learned early on that you become much more pragmatic and tend to stay calm in the face of trying times.  A friend of mine is fond of the saying, “God is preparing you for greatness”, when things are particularly tough and perhaps that’s exactly what has happend to Mrs. Palin.

She had this to say about Trig and what she thought God would say to her family about her son: “Children are the most precious and promising ingredient in this mixed-up world you live in down there on Earth. Trig is no different, except he has one extra chromosome.”

Intelligence and Compassion, Fortitude and Grace.  All critical ingredients for a leader.

Oh yeah, and about the music….here’s a few Sarah might want to use on the campaign trail…

  She’s a Woman, The Beatles

  She’s Always a Woman, Billy Joel

  More than a Woman, The Bee Gees

  I Am Woman, Helen Reddy

  Sarah, Bob Dylan

GEAUX SARAH!

 
 

Tags: , ,

18 responses to “She’s a Woman!

  1. Colette

    August 29, 2008 at 6:28 pm

    I’m happy to see a woman get ahead, but let’s agree to disagree about this lady’s qualifications for the highest office in the land.

    I’m of the persuasion that people can hold very different political views, and still have a lot in common — including the love of great music!

     
  2. music maven

    August 29, 2008 at 7:08 pm

    Well, she isn’t running for the highest office, she’s running for VP. While I get your drift that she would become president if anything happened to McCain, I have to argue that she actually has more “governing” experience than Obama does. She has actually lead a government and dealt with the very issues that are plaquing the country at large. Did you know that Alaska is so flush with cash that each resident will shortly receive a $1200 state tax rebate?

    When I compare the inexperienced Obama, who is actually running for the highest office in the land and the old lion Joe Biden (there’s a reason he could win the nomination three times) to the Independent leaning and 20 year, ultra-experienced veteran McCain with a young, effective woman on the ticket…MY choice is easy.

    I think that this lady is a big blast of FRESH air.

     
  3. shrewspeaks

    August 29, 2008 at 8:03 pm

    Now, no matter which party wins, history will be made. This removes the pressure to be part of the historical vote casting moment and refocuses the energy back on the issues at hand. The way it should be.

    I think, despite your candidate of choice, we can all agree that yesterday and today are the most electrifying, positive momentum filled days of our democracy in decades. I am proud to be alive during this wonderful time in American Politics.

     
  4. huckleberryfriend

    August 29, 2008 at 8:21 pm

    I can’t believe how excited I was when I heard the rumor this morning that McCain was going to name Sarah Palin as his VP. Sarah and Bobby Jindal are the shining stars of the new conservative movement. It looks like Bobby is going to have his chance to prove himself this weekend.

    The debate between Sarah and Joe Biden will be the highlight of this election. I think Sarah just might surprise everyone – especially Joe.

    I love intelligent, independent thinking women!

     
  5. music maven

    August 29, 2008 at 10:20 pm

    Huck — I think that you are dead on. Sarah looks to be able to hold her own, even with sarcastic Joe Biden. The more I see, the more I like of this gal. If nothing else, it certainly will garner some interest in this election.

    I say that it’s about time for another woman to take the national stage and I really think that the RNC is going to be exciting. Hard to believe. Today, we saw history made.

     
  6. huckleberryfriend

    August 30, 2008 at 6:56 am

    Here’s the transcript of an interview with Sarah by Maria Bartiromo at CNBC that aired yesterday. Sarah-cuda comes across as warm, intelligent, likable, knowledgeable, and very capable. The interview was prior to being named as McCain’s VP choice.

    http://www.cnbc.com/id/26462569?__source=RSS*blog*&par=RSS

    “The full interview will air this weekend on CNBC’s “The Wall Street Journal Report with Maria Bartiromo.” Video of the interview is also available at CNBC.com.”

     
  7. AH

    August 30, 2008 at 8:39 am

    ** Now, no matter which party wins, history will be made. This removes the pressure to be part of the historical vote casting moment and refocuses the energy back on the issues at hand. The way it should be. **

    Want to make it clear that this is not a comment on anything but the “taking care of business” aspect of this VP selection , but Shrew stated my reaction very nicely . Palin may prove to be a smart choice – need to do my own homework on that – but first reaction is that this was a point / counterpoint move on the chess board.
    Just call me a cynical independent – or as we are listed in my state – the “unenrolled”.

     
  8. Linda T

    August 30, 2008 at 10:23 am

    Is it ok to say the possbility of having her be the VP scares the living daylights out of me? There goes Alaska…

    Back to your regularly scheduled love-fest……enjoy.

     
  9. music maven

    August 30, 2008 at 10:47 am

    I guess I don’t understand the “There goes Alaska” comment….

    You certainly can say whatever you like and I know that not everyone feels like I do about how great it is to have a strong, independent young woman in a vital leadership position for the first time in history, but I think if people question her “inexperience”, you HAVE to look at Obama’s obvious lack of experience. And, he is trying to be PRESIDENT.

    Politics is very incendiary and that’s why I usually avoid it here, however as a woman, this day has been way too long in coming and I have to say that I am estatic about it. Sorry if this disappoints, but this woman is more like me than any other candidate before. I feel that she understands the issues that are important to me.

    I like the fact that she can bring a different viewpoint to the mix and she is certainly smart enough to know that she will need to surround herself with experts where she might not be as experienced.

    I have to wonder if people would be “scared” if a man with the same creditials would have been chosen…she has had more impact on issues that she’s been involved in than the head of the “other” ticket. And, for the record, his lack of experience actually does scare the beejezus out of me.

     
  10. Linda T

    August 30, 2008 at 11:13 am

    Her inexperience doesn’t scare me in the slightest, just as Obama’s inexperience doesn’t scare me. They are both smart enough to, as you say, know when they will need to surround themselves with experts where they might not be as experienced. I think no matter who wins, it will be nice to see some intelligence in the office. Experience is actually less important to me as a voter.

    Her gender doesn’t scare me at all either. If she were a man, I’d be just as unsure. I supported Hillary as well so it is exciting to see a woman in a position of potential power — she is just not my choice of the woman I’d like to see here.

    What scares me is her stance on two issues — drilling and abortion. (my “there goes Alaska” was in reference to her position on drilling, one that is I’m sure shared by McCain). These are highly controversial issues so I won’t get on a soapbox and preach my point of view. Suffice it to say I’m on the opposite side of the fence from her where these two issues are concerned.

    I appreciate the freedom to say what I feel here — thanks for that. I’ll probably keep quiet from here on out, though and allow those who are happy about this decision to have their time to celebrate.

     
  11. Colette

    August 30, 2008 at 11:19 am

    Frankly, I’m scared as hell about spoiling this lovely musical conversation with political bickering. I have deep feelings about this race, as many of you all do, and I could debate point for point, with chapter and verse and statistics, why I am more determined than ever to cast my vote a certain way, and who has more experience, proven judgement and wisdom to be a heart-beat away from the presidency.

    But as tempting as it would be to engage in this, for me music is a “big tent” sanctuary, a chance for people to connect on an almost spiritual plane — as blacks and whites, and people of very different backgrounds and beliefs, always have in this country.

    You don’t know how difficult it is to restrain myself in this kind of conversation: I’ve been politically active since I became deeply involved in the civil rights movement at age 15. But I prefer the “lovefest” of sharing, exulting in and yes, sometimes arguing about music…….So I will respectfully keep myself out of such discussions here in future, rather than threaten any of the goodwill and musical comradeship I’ve been so grateful for!

     
  12. music maven

    August 30, 2008 at 11:46 am

    You know, honestly, I did this post out of real pride that a woman of my generation was finally in a serious position to break through the “good ole boy” network and maybe affect some change. I didn’t intend it to become a political discussion.

    I could also debate each issue point by point because I do as much research on who I cast a vote for as I do my musical posts. But I won’t because that’s not what this site is intended to do. However, this site is as much about me as it is about music. Sometimes I post about family, sometimes about inner feelings, and sometimes about football. I do try to bring it “back to the music” mainly because music is a great love of mine, but I reserve the right to get off the beaten path sometimes, as well. In fairness, I changed the “about” section to appropriately affect the purpose of this blog.

    I appreciate all of the readers and commenters and would never want to do anything to affect that, however I stand by this post.

     
  13. Linda T

    August 30, 2008 at 12:33 pm

    I’m sorry. I think I may have posted my opinions in an inappropriate place. It was not my intent to hurt feelings.

    Music Maven, is it possible for you to remove my last two posts? (I don’t know how to do that in wordpress.) I appreciate it, thank y ou.

     
  14. Colette

    August 30, 2008 at 12:47 pm

    Linda T — I get that decision, but I for one don’t think you were at all “inappropriate” or need to retract. You just voiced your own opinion, in a respectful and clear manner. I’m sure some readers share it.

    And MM, of course this is your blog and it will reflect what’s on your mind and happening in your life. We love you for that! But this is such a heated election you probably will get some strong feelings expressed if the subject turns to electoral politics. That’s just what’s goin’ on at the moment….

    Meanwhile, I do want to note (in an entirely nonpartisan way, of course) that Jennifer Hudson rocked the stadium with a very soulful “Star Spangled Banner” and that Michael McDonald (who I saw perform last night, brilliantly) honored Ray Charles with the latter’s arrangement of “America, the Beautiful.” In the spirit of bipartisanship, I hope the Republican Convention has some great music too!

     
  15. music maven

    August 30, 2008 at 2:11 pm

    Linda T — no worries, your comments are part of the great debate. There are so many issues and so many points of view and I think respectful discourse is healthy. I’m a pretty blunt person — WYSISWYG — so, I generally lay it out there. I also respect others who do the same (as long as they are educated on the issues), so as long as comments don’t personally attack others, I welcome all.

     
  16. shrewspeaks

    August 30, 2008 at 4:01 pm

    How cool to be part of a community where mutual respect ultimately wins!

    WYSISWYG…indeed!

     
  17. huckleberryfriend

    August 31, 2008 at 7:11 am

    Next election I think we should draft MM and Shrew – or maybe Shrew and MM. Great Music in Every Pot! Or maybe that’s Great Music and Crawfish in Every Pot!

     
  18. karma

    August 31, 2008 at 6:49 pm

    I will admit having little interest in the presidential race until McCain announced his VP. Stunning, and a great political move on his part. I’ve really been on the fence about this election, not particularly moved by either side until now. My brother-in-law is an Alaska resident and says she has been great as their governor. While I don’t necessarily agree with all her views, I will now give some serious consideration to this political ticket.

     

Leave a Reply

 
