RSS

Sea of Humanity

06 Nov

rally

On Tuesday, America once again showed its true colors.  For the first time in our history, a man who is half African and half Anglo-Saxon was elected by the populus to steer the helm of the most powerful democracy in the world.  For me, Barack Obama is much like Tiger Woods in that he comes from a varied background that provides for an open mind from all groups of people.  While I do not agree with the fiscal policies of “spreading the wealth” and “universal health care”, I find myself slightly excited about the possibilities and infusion of youth into our government.

As I traveled among the unwashed masses on Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday, I couldn’t help but be struck by all of the different people that touch elbows through our airports each day.  It really is a microcosm of the world and for the most part runs very smoothly.  Just like society as a whole, there are people of every walk of life, nationality, religon and color traveling on business and for pleasure.  There are the young, the old, the very thin and the overly large, men and women.  While for the most part politeness and tolerance paves the way, there are also the occaisional assholes.

I have to say that in my travels, I have been met by multi-cultural politeness and respect.  People generally want to help each other — lift bags into the overhead, share a newspaper, open a door, say thank you, etc.  All of this strikes me as very much in line with the new “change” for our country.  First, Mr. Obama will soon be President Obama — President of the United States and therefore, everyone under that banner.  The electorate spoke and now it is time for us to unify to support our President and work to improve our economy, hold off our enemies and create a better place for our children and grandchildren.  Time will be the ultimate judge of success in policies or not and for now, collaboration will be key.

Conversely, the example of the heinousness of McCain aides who are now throwing Sarah Palin to the wolves should NOT be the standard.  While Sarah Palin could certaintly be accused of lack of experience and ultra-conservativeness, I find the back-biting by these men to cover their own ineptness appalling.  While Sarah Paling may not be the ideal for all women to support (just as Hillary was not), these men are damaging the possibilities for other women to step up and become a larger part of the governmental process at the highest levels.  I mean, who wants to be persecuted in such a way as this woman has been? 

I’ve been watching Mad Men and have had a few good laughs about the treatment of women and how much things have changed in the last 45 years.  But, as I sit writing this waiting to present to a room full of 50 year old white men in top positions at a large corporation, I’m wondering just how low the glass ceiling really is.  Are we let in just enough to get the work done, yet become the scapegoat when things go wrong? Barack Obama was carried into office by those who wanted to see change and embrace a chance for something new.  Perhaps women can join together to support each other for the same type of change.

I sincerely hope that Mr. Obama incorporates all tides from the sea of humanity.  As his crowd in Grant Park reflected on Tuesday night, we are a diverse group with all kinds of experience and ideas that can be brought to the table.  I’m hopeful that we will see a spirit of cooperation and inclusion and that perhaps we will have a day when there are no ceilings for anyone.  As long as I’m not over-taxed or my freedoms restricted or my opportunities limited or we don’t cower against terror, President Obama will have my full support.

  Everyday People, Sly & The Family Stone

 
12 Comments

Posted by on November 6, 2008 in sarah palin, that's life

 

Tags: , ,

12 responses to “Sea of Humanity

  1. huckleberryfriend

    November 6, 2008 at 12:28 pm

    I tried watching a clip of Mad Men and didn’t find it funny. I wonder what that means – that a guy doesn’t find it funny but women (you and Shrew) do. Maybe it’s because women know that this behavior still exists – just in a more subtle way? But I never thought the 3 Stooges were funny either!

    I do agree with you about the way Sarah Palin was and is being treated. Carl Cameron on Fox is acting like a silly teenage girl, and O-Reilly was almost as bad.

    And I don’t have it in me to be anything other than the “loyal opposition”.

     
  2. amy

    November 6, 2008 at 12:53 pm

    Wow, that was really well put! I agree 110%. Though I am a registered Republican, I am somewhat anxious with excitement about what the future holds with Obama as our leader. (a little fearful as well…”spreading the wealth” ain’t my idea of America.)
    I heard Kidd Kraddick (I know thats not a reputable political staion, but anyway…) slamming Sarah Palin this morning for her “Diva” like behavior. Typical human nature, right?…building people up just to tear them down! Disgusting!

     
  3. marymagdalene

    November 6, 2008 at 4:28 pm

    MM:
    I have to agree with Amy regarding this particular day’s blog, as that was REALLY well phrased, and I also agree 110%!

    Due to the fact that I am also a registered Republican, I am somewhat anxious, and yet intrigued at the same time, for what Obama will bring to the table as President…

     
  4. AH

    November 6, 2008 at 8:39 pm

    This will be an unwelcome 2cents but have to disagree with Palin being unfairly thrown under the bus.
    My family and many of our friends were undecided before she became part of the picture. At first most of us were excited, and then we started doing our homework. Long story short – there were a number of women in the GOP that would have been an excellent running mate – she was not one of them. Her behavior only made us more worried about her judgement and personal motivations. I can say with certainty that Palin was the tipping point for 19 lost votes just in my small circle and have heard/read of many, many more. Would I have liked to vote for a team with a woman on it ? Absolutely ! But like Ms. Ferraro before her – not just any woman will do – maybe the third time will be the charm.

     
  5. shrewspeaks

    November 6, 2008 at 11:15 pm

    MM…I was having this exact discussion in work today; specifically the point about woman and glass ceilings. I am happy to see that an Obama presidency will go a long way to mend the hurt and anguish caused by the callus racial divide that has been present in our country since colonial times.

    I have a feeling in my soul that must be akin to the excitement that stirred in Seneca Falls, NY when the 15th Amendment was ratified giving African American men the right to vote. Elizabeth Cady Stanton and Susan B Anthony, Lucy Paul and all the Iron Jawed Angels must have felt the inevitable momentum behind their gender justice fight to ratify the 19th amendment. I hope we modern Millies will not have to wait the 20 some years they did. Nor do I hope we have to suffer the battles they did to gain an equal voice. I hope we women are afforded the peaceful stance of hope Mr. President-Elect has had and stands for so that we too gain the highest office, equal pay and respect of being, we so rightly deserve.

    “Remember the Ladies” – Abigail Adams

    And on this note of healing and forward positive vision I give you Ms Aretha.

     
  6. colette

    November 7, 2008 at 3:19 am

    Lots of good dialogue here! And thanks, MM, for writing such a thoughtful and gracious post.

    I’m glad to see Repubs & Demos talking together about what’s best for their country, for the whole society, and less about the fear hot-button stuff that dominates so many election races.

    In 1968 I was a teenager, and a demonstrator in Chicago at the Democratic National Convention. Though i escaped harm and arrest, I was in the midst of a right and many people around me were being clubbed and cuffed by the wildly out of control Chicago police. To see that beautiful sea of humanity at Lincoln Park to celebrate Obama’s victory, and hopefully the renewal of our nation, was very moving to me. And when I went to vote, and it was an older black poll worker who checked me in, I burst into tears just because I realized how far we’d come in that man’s lifetime, and what he must have known as a child in a far more segregated society.

    I was appalled by Palin’s ignorance and lack of qualification for VP. But I do agree that she’s being unfairly scapegoated, presumably by the people who recruited her and threw her off the deep end for which she was very unprepared. To blame her for that bumbling mess of a campaign, is absurd. Why didn’t they vet her carefully? Or choose a Republican woman of more accomplishment and political savvy? They were using her beauty, her populist maverick image, her family. And when the whole campaign imploded they threw her overboard — again.

    Meanwhile, I urge everyone to give Obama time to sort through this horrible economic mess we’re in before rendering judgment on him. I’m very hopeful that he has the smarts, and the ability to unite the country in the way MM and most of us so long for.

    To quote Abraham Lincoln, Obama’s favorite president:

    “My dream is of a place and a time where America will once again be seen as the last best hope of earth. “

     
  7. music maven

    November 7, 2008 at 8:37 am

    Exactly Collette. I think it is fair to have the public and even the pundits debate “what went wrong” with the McCain campaign, but for “anonymous insiders” and “McCain aides” to be planting stories in the press about Palin’s “diva-ness” and “tantrums” to paint her as a bitch is chickenshit.

    I think Palin was a zero factor for McCain, as for as many that didn’t vote for McCain because of her, the same amount did who likely wouldn’t have. We can debate her lack of experience and her right leanings, even Troopergate, but to have people who were supposed to be her inner circle and team come out THE DAY AFTER THE ELECTION and maliciously try to destroy her and have her be the bearer of blame for the loss is just plain WRONG. And, make no mistake, it adversely affects all women who aspire to be a part business and politics at the highest levels.

    AH — I never said we had to vote for ANY woman and I can understand your not voting for the ticket because of the reasons you listed. What I did say, however, is that women ON ALL SIDES should be defending the treatment of Sarah Palin by the Men of McCain and calling out them out for the cretins they are. Makes me sorry for casting my vote for these idiots. Personally, I think Hillary Clinton, Nancy Pelosi and other women in high offices should express just how chickenshit this is. I’m not a card carrying feminist, but this ROYALLY pisses me off (if you can’t tell). I’m not dismissing her role in the loss, however I expect fairness. Kicking this woman in the teeth is just bad form and to me, shows the true motivations of McCain’s minions when they picked her. If they truly believed in her and her abilities, they would never be doing this. McCain owes her a debt for making people even pay attention to his campaign.

    Let me be clear — McCain lost because:
    1.) he could not communicate his message clearly
    2.) he irratically jumped around during the financial crisis meltdown
    3.) the crisis was largely blamed on Republican policies — perception is reality
    4.) his lack of charisma and comfortableness was starkly exposed against the large personality of Obama
    5.) for many, this was a referendum on Bush
    6.) some were concerned by his age and the fact that his VP had little experience

    Obama WON this election more than McCain lost it. He really had little chance given the circumstances around this election and he simply is not the communicator Obama is. Just like Reagan, Obama connects, or kun-NECKS, as I’ve been apt to say.

    As my wise old Daddy used to say, “You have to look and act the part if you want to have the job”. Obama has longed looked presidential and like a leader and played all of his card exactly right during this campaign. The same cannot be said of McCain. And, as for Palin, all she ever tried to do was what she was asked to do.

     
  8. colette

    November 7, 2008 at 11:55 am

    Agreed, though we can argue policy another time!

    But I don’t believe the mess around Palin hurt the cause of equality for women ultimately. Though I thought Hillary had too much political baggage to make it (and a campaign staff almost as back-biting as McCain’s), she showed that women can be firm, smart, articulate and “presidential,” in the eyes of voters. And she had the experience and knowledge to back it all up.

    This is Obama’s time. But there are lots of talented women on both sides of the aisle in the Senate, in Congress and in the state houses as governors right now — even more after this election.

    Within that group lurks a woman who is going to come to the fore in 2012, I just feel it! Hillary paved the way….

     
  9. music maven

    November 8, 2008 at 12:18 pm

    Yes, it is Obama’s time as Sarah Palin very graciously expressed:

    “This is an historic a moment. Barack Obama has been elected president. Let him be able to kind of savor this moment, one, and not let the pettiness of maybe internal workings of a campaign erode any of the recognition of this historic moment that we’re in. And God bless Barack Obama and his beautiful family and the new administration that we’re in. It is time that we all pull together and work together and America is going to reach her destiny.” — Sarah Palin

    While I hear you, Colette, I still think that both Hillary AND Sarah have not been very well portrayed and I my cynical side can’t help but thinking of the old men in the private back rooms laughing about “cat fighting” and such. Women seem to have a bad habit of tearing down the competition, which is usally seen as other women. Across race, party lines, age, religon, etc., women need to stand together whenever there is injustice and unfairness that prohibits us from having a legitimate seat at the table.

    Each time a woman in these positions are made or portrayed to be ignorant, undeserving, or bitchy, we all suffer. Do you really believe that Palin doesn’t know that Africa is continent? C’mon. And, as for Mitt Romney and his cretins, they can rot. I will gladly pull the Obama lever if the next choice is Romney.

    For me, this is an issue that has hit a raw nerve…

     
  10. colette

    November 8, 2008 at 9:34 pm

    Clearly!

    All we can do right now is hope for the best, for Obama’s guidance of the nation and for American womanhood.

    And that was a very gracious statement of Palin, thanks for posting.

     
  11. Jenny Ann Johnson

    November 10, 2008 at 11:02 pm

    A thought provoking blog with raw passion, first hand insight and a willing heart to help summons the change needed in our country. Words are powerful and when used properly with an authentic voice folks take note. Great job!!

    Everyone should check out Romans 13: 1-7

     
  12. music maven

    November 11, 2008 at 9:23 am

    Thanks, JAJ. Good to “see” you. Hope all is well.

     

Leave a Reply

 
