RSS

Mad as Hell…

14 Nov

Ok, here’s the deal…here’s how I feel today:

  Peter Finch in Network

I’m tired.  Exhausted even.

I’m sick of worry.  I’m sick of people taking advantage of others.  I’m sick of senseless crimes that basically go unpunished.  I’m sick of doing the right thing while others go through this life using and abusing the civility and politeness of others to enrich themselves with little or no regard for the affect on others.  I’m sick of paying the freight for others who choose not to help themselves.  I’m sick of being prudent in my finances by being frugal and others live high on the hog while my “investments” dwindle to nothing, endenturing me into my senior years just to pay the utility bill.

The new President might be the cure, but I’m not going to be patient.  While I know it takes time to right the ship, I want to see progress.  I want to see the stock market going UP each day.  I don’t want to pay additional taxes or more insurance or higher health costs with high fuel costs and lower property values.  Put simply, my pay just doesn’t increase at the rate that all of this is increasing, so I’m basically walking backwards. 

We’ve worked hard.  We’ve sacrificied.  We’ve saved.  We’ve lived by the law.  And, for what?  To sit on the sidelines and watch others who have done none of this walk away scot free with a pile of money with the final insult of us paying the bill for it.  Parents are killing their children and instead of swift and just punishment, we make excuses, protect their rights and create a society of allowance.

I’m nauseous.  Where is the balance?  Where is the moral outrage?  Where is accountability?  Is there simply no more structure in our society?  Everyone just do what you want with little or no consequence?

I’m pissed.

  We’re Not Gonna Take It, The Veronicas

 
 

Tags: , ,

14 responses to “Mad as Hell…

  1. kanniduba

    November 14, 2008 at 12:49 pm

    Hey Maven…
    I think we’re all going through a “bad patch.” It’s hard to pinpoint why…it’s nothing in particular, but everything in general. Know what I mean? The worry never ends, the fear is continually magnified, and there’s an imminent feeling of “the worst is yet to come.”
    I had a very vivid dream the other night—I dreamt that things went to pot…no specifics, but we knew we needed to take immediate action to protect ourselves. We got together with four of our good neighbors, those two flanking us, and the two across the street—We worked together and in a matter of a few days, had managed to build a 10 foot tall barricade surrounding our properties. We pooled our resources, working to expand our neighbor’s well established garden, and began another large one across the street in a big patch of sun. My other neighbor went and brought her two horses home from their boarding barn, and we used our old garage to keep them. Neighbor Man taught the other men how to use his guns, and the kids collected piles of rocks to keep in various locations around the property. That’s all I remember…
    But I woke up with very mixed emotions. I have been very tempted to buy secluded property to run to if it all goes in the crapper…but you know, I think that dream was a message in a sense. Our strength and ability to survive challenging times is not going to be found by locking people out, but by letting people in. We need to reach out to each other, and once again connect as a community. There is still more good than bad…I believe it in my soul. Unfortunately, all we hear is the bad…it’s the thing that’s so loud it drowns out everything else.
    I apologize for the lengthy sermon, but one more thing….
    I don’t think I’m the only one who is sensing this profound need to establish connections. At Church on Sunday our pastor greeted us, and then said, “Take a minute to wish your neighbors a good morning and chat a bit before we begin the Mass!” I have NEVER heard a priest at a Catholic service postpone the start of Mass for chitchat time. I will tell you that it was the most rewarding three minutes of the service…everyone’s spirit’s lifted immediately, and the rest of the Mass seemed a celebration of community in which we were together as One, not a collection of individuals.
    We are being tested. Things may get a whole lot worse before they get better. But I refuse to be crazy…and I refuse to let doubt and fear get the better of me. (For more than a day or two anyway!) Don’t let it get the best of you MM…Get pissed, scream “We’re not gonna take it!” out your window…and then force yourself to heal. See the good. It’s still out there. We just need to look a lot harder for it these days. XO

     
  2. Amy

    November 14, 2008 at 1:52 pm

    Amen Sista!
    I’m tired of sacraficing! When does our ship come in?! When do we see the fruits of our labor?!
    I was actually asked by an older gentleman (probably nearing his 80s) how I was going to raise a baby in the world we live in today! Are you freakin kidding me?! How? Well, he’s here so raise him I must! Should I have also sacraficed my dream of having children because the world is going to shit? I despise nearly everyone these days! Going home to have a glass of vino!
    Happy freakin Friday!

     
  3. kanniduba

    November 14, 2008 at 3:38 pm

    Aw Sh*t!!! To hell with it all! You’re right!!! F*ing craphole! The ship is sinking and there’s no way off it!
    Happy Freaking Friday is right! *raises glass* Cheers! Here’s to the invisible “good.”

     
  4. music maven

    November 14, 2008 at 4:50 pm

    Ok, I had to chuckle at Amy’s rant. For perspective, Amy is about 5 years out of college. Honey, you think you’re tired now, wait ten (or 15) more years. Mr. D is 60, so I can only imagine his frustration.

    Main thing is this….PEOPLE NEED TO STAND UP AND BE COUNTED!! Refuse to take it. We allow so much out of political correctness and fear of intolerance.

    Good people of the Middle Class!! STAND UP AND FIGHT!!!

    Demand Justice. Expect Accountability. JUST SAY NO!

     
  5. Shrewspeaks

    November 14, 2008 at 10:10 pm

    I totally get where you are coming from…BUT after this week…I can only muster enough to pay forward a simple gesture to hopefully take the sting out of what we are all feeling. Because while money provides means, no amount of it can save the ones you love or tell someone how much you care.

    I care about you.

     
  6. colette

    November 15, 2008 at 2:05 am

    150 people got laid off or took not-so-great buyouts at my workplace this week.

    I’m feeling lucky to still have a decent job, lucky to be alive, lucky to be in love, lucky lucky lucky. And pissed too! not fair, not fair, not fair.

    But (and maybe no one wants to hear this) we as a society let this happen to an extent. We thought credit cards were money. We thought Wall Streeters and corporate CEOs cared about anybody or anything else but their own golden parachutes.

    So back to a simpler life, gratitude for what enriches us. And here’s to not letting ourselves get duped again! as The Who once eloquently put it:

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sO8GhA8OdyQ&feature=related “We Don’t Get Fooled Again”

     
  7. music maven

    November 15, 2008 at 9:06 am

    This rant really wasn’t intended to by about money, but it usually comes down to it. It’s a central factor because it directly affects paying my Mortgage, sending my kid to college, taking care of my mother and her house, and having some sense of enjoyment for myself and my husband so we can mentally survive this mess. Most people, like me, have a lot of pressure on their shoulders to provide…and not just luxuries…basic needs.

    Colette’s example is dead on. Lay-offs are becoming the norm and the expected. In a declining market, jobs will become harder and harder to find. Those Boomers who were supposed to be retiring and creating a ripe job market for the rest, are not going anywhere because, frankly, they’ve lost 30-50% of their retirement funds in the last year. That provides an over-saturated job market where it’s hard for people to find a job and if they do, it’s at a much lower wage than they likely are looking for. That puts pressure on paying the bills, ANY consumer spending (that supports a large part of the work force), etc., etc. It’s a vicious circle. No job, no money, no money to spend, no jobs.

    Yes, I AM grateful that I have a job and that although it’s tight, I can make the bills and have a place to live, etc. And, I do agree that the “excess society” is now paying for its sins…HOWEVER, I refuse to say “WE”, as that is not me. While others ran up high debt, my prudent husband had us paying it down. While others bought second homes, new cars and seemingly anything they wanted anytime they wanted it; we diligently spent only when we could absolutely afford it or to improve our property to be able to eventually sell our house for a profit that would allow us to someday build our dream house.

    For many, this is the first recession and experience with lay-offs and people really struggling. For me, it is at least the third time. And it’s old. The greedy make out like bandits while people like us scrape along. I wish that I could subsist on love and family alone, but the fact is that I can’t. Point is, it never changes. The same thing happens over and over with “the middle” paying for the bottom and the top. We continue to trudge along, convinced that we should just “be grateful” for what we do have and for our health and loved ones.

    With Thanksgiving coming up, I am keenly aware that I have a tremendous amount to be thankful for and a little part of me is admonishing the other parts for feeling the way I feel, but it is what it is…I want to know when the good, decent, hard-working people get theirs? Perhaps it is not in this world.

     
  8. huckleberryfriend

    November 15, 2008 at 9:33 am

    I’m a little ahead of you on the pissed off part. The next phase is you just go numb. Watching your investments lose $1000 a day becomes meaningless. Watching the fools in Congress is just a bad sitcom. Our district voted out a conservative Republican that voted against the bailout and put in a Democrat lawyer. Go figure.

    About a year ago I saw this coming and sold my condo in the city and moved to a more rural area. Planted 15 fruit trees, raspberry, blackberry, elderberry, blueberry, strawberries, and grapes. Have a huge garden. Bought a dehydrator and might even learn how to can food.

    I accidentally retired several years ago and even though I have great experience and education, jobs have been in a decline for quite some time. The housing boom masked the real job numbers and now we are seeing how bad it really is.

    And Congress has done nothing to create a jobs stimulus. If they would have taken a positive approach on oil drilling, we might see job creation by now. Or if they had supported natural gas powered cars, GM might have a fighting chance at surviving. What will lead us out of this mess?

    We always get through these things. The scary part is how long will it take and how bad will it get.

    One thing you can be sure of – Cajuns will do just fine. Kill it, throw it in a pot with a little seasoning and whatever else you got, drink some beer and play a little Bourré.

     
  9. huckleberryfriend

    November 15, 2008 at 9:43 am

    MM – Hope I didn’t spark a rehash of the election by my comment about my local Congressman. Just meant that a good man who represented his district well was thrown out for no apparent reason.

     
  10. Shrewspeaks

    November 15, 2008 at 11:39 am

    I am sorry as well…I did not mean the hug or my comment as glib. Perhaps, I should not have commented with all that I am walking through now. I just wanted to say, I hear you and I care.

     
  11. music maven

    November 15, 2008 at 12:07 pm

    My dear friends, no need to apologize. See, that’s all we do…constantly sorry for stuff. I know exactly where you all are coming from, and part of me is ashamed for feeling so selfish and cynical. Most of us are much more comfortable with polite martyrdom, carrying our crosses in silent agony.

    I’m just at a point where I’m sick of it. I’m sincerely happy for those who can find some solace and don’t diminish that in the least. I’m just in a real funk. Maybe our Thanksgiving visit home will change my perspective….

     
  12. colette

    November 15, 2008 at 12:49 pm

    Didn’t mean any guilt tripping! I think we all have a right to be worried, pissed off and frustrated. So do my friends at work who’ve just got laid off, my wonderful brother in law who has been out of work for two years, and we all could blame different culprits for this. Plenty of blame to go around!

    I also have a pay-as-I-go policy, inherited from my parents who grew up during the Depression when unemployment went as high as 30-40 percent. I’m just sayin’, our society as a whole has gotten more heavily materialistic and consumerist in recent times, and it’s really not supportable. I admire Huck for taking it back to the roots. I wanna be an honorary Cajun!

    Life ain’t fair, and venting is human. And I also hope as one nation, indivisible, we pull together, count our blessings, and begin to dig out of this mess.
    And thank God for music, which truly does soothe the soul —

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_9hlzB-44Fw — Harry Connick Jr., “Yes We Can Can”

     
  13. colette

    November 15, 2008 at 12:51 pm

    And I didn’t mean that as a Obama song! I meant it as a great NOLA anthem by the great Allen Toussaint…….

     
  14. brc

    November 15, 2008 at 1:45 pm

    MM I can empathize with how you are feeling. Times are tough and life sucks sometimes. I do think it helps to vent and get the bad stuff off of our chests so it doesn’t consume us, so vent away girl.

    In the face of all this, I try to remind myself that we can only control what we do and how we act and how we respond. If others want to lie, cheat, use and abuse, there is only so much we can do.

    You are frugal and live within your means — celebrate that. Imagine where you would be if you had acted otherwise. You cast your votes for those that you felt would govern in a way that is consistent with your values — AMEN — there are people in the world who don’t have that freedom. You are willing to stand up and be counted — I think we can all take inspiration from that and take whatever positive steps are in our power to make things better. You care about accountability, civility and injustice — God bless you.

    As you stated just over a week ago… “…for the most part, politeness and tolerance paves the way.” I agree.

     

Leave a Reply

 
