RSS

A Brighter Day

17 Nov

xmas_grinch_heart

Ok.  So, Friday I’m pissed and generally surly throughout the day.  I wake up Saturday with a chip the size of Texas on my shoulder and trudge out to Wal-Mart, i.e. Purgatory. 

SUN0730 Walmart 9.jpg

Big mistake.  I needed toilet paper and paper towels and, let’s face it, Wal-Mart has the best prices.  Of course, I’m in uber-saver mode because of the sad state of our economy (see previous post) so I have no other choice but to enter the gates of hell, that is Wal-Mart.

I trudge the store for other items such as wine (I’m on a Gallo Cabernet-Sauvingnon kick) where I can save $2.00 a bottle, egg rolls (there are no good egg rolls at the Winn Dixie near me), and the new People magazine with The Obamas on the cover.  Naturally, I get in line at the check-out (three deep) and just as it’s my turn, realize that I didn’t get Beef Broth.  I need Beef Broth.  It’s one of the things I went to the store for.  I’m making Pot Roast in the Crock Pot, so I’ve got to have Beef Broth.  Crap!

I impatiently turn my cart out of the line, knowing I’d lose my turn in line and have to wait another 20 minutes when I returned.  Feeling utterly defeated, I sulked all the way to Aisle 5 and back to the check out.  I waited (again) for my turn to check out and I must say that the checker lady was very cordial and nice, chatty even.  I manage a polite conversation because, after all, she’s just trying to make a living, right?

Then, I get to my car, unload my loot into the backseat, and go to pull out.  The guy who gathers up all of the loose carts had left a 50 ft. line of carts IN THE MIDDLE OF THE AISLE, causing gridlock among the Saturday errand-runners.  There were raised voices, horns honking and fingers flying, but finally he got his electric mover working and the steel dragon out of the way.

As I pulled out and exited the parking lot, I found myself murmering to myself about stupidity, laziness and inconsiderateness.  To say I was in a bad mood would be the understatement of the year.  I got home, where I was alone as Mr. D was playing golf and Mini-DD was at a friend’s house.  I hauled all of the bags into the house and put it all away and then looked at the war-torn kitchen in disgust. 

“When does it all end?!?  Can’t I get a break?!?  What about ME?!?  What ABOUT me?!?”  My mind raced with these thoughts as I walked to the front porch to get the mail.  A bunch of junk, but then I saw two hand-written envelopes.  My heart always races with handwritten envelopes because it’s generally personal correspondence and someone sending something special to ME.

As I opened the envelope addressed to “Dee Dee & Gramps”, I felt like the Grinch when his heart grew three times to normal size.  For when I opened the card thanking us for the recent gifts, here’s what greeted me:

scan0001

handh

hdd11

scan0002

Suddenly, I was gobsmacked.  These wonderful images, provided by my wonderful and talented daughter-in-law, brought everything into sharp focus.  I became starkly aware that, in fact, it is NOT “all about me”, but rather about what I do for others…my family, my friends, total strangers.  I will feel better about me and my situation if I DO for others.

So, today is a brighter day.  Today, I will put ME aside and look outward rather than inward.  The above images will serve as a standard under which I will serve.  I will take my talents and multiply them.  For those of you so inclined to hear a “word” on this, listen to this message from Joyce Meyer:

Joyce has a way of putting practical life situations and challenges into faith messages.  I love her directness and self-depriciating humor.

For those of you not so inclined, here’s a wonderful ditty from Kevin So, who I had the pleasure of seeing this past year at the Saenger Theatre, here in Mobile.  Hopefully, it’ll make you feel bettah…

  Brighter Day, Kevin So

Perhaps Obama should make THIS his theme song.

 

Tags: , , , ,

14 responses to “A Brighter Day

  1. goodbadandugly2

    November 17, 2008 at 11:32 am

    Oh dear, I can relate to this too…….

     
  2. brc

    November 17, 2008 at 2:31 pm

    So glad you were jolted out of your funk. Those beautiful babies would make anyone forget their cares…

     
  3. music maven

    November 17, 2008 at 5:01 pm

    Welcome, gb&e2. Nice avatar.

    brc — thanks for that Midnight Special. My apologies for all of my surliness last week. From now on, it’s “Chin up”.

    Winning 9/10 in the football pool I’m in didn’t hurt either. 😉

     
  4. Rachel

    November 17, 2008 at 5:28 pm

    I hate days that start that way!

     
  5. huckleberryfriend

    November 18, 2008 at 8:52 am

    Look on the bright side. Your rant might have meant we are finally at the bottom in the stock market. You could be famous.

    MM rant calls stock market bottom!

     
  6. colette

    November 18, 2008 at 12:15 pm

    Adorable, and I’m jealous….I want my kid to give me grandchildren! (I also want her to find the right guy….)

     
  7. Shrewspeaks

    November 18, 2008 at 3:14 pm

    I want to find the right guy

    …kidding…

    No, I am not.

    My dearest MM…Life sucks, people are stupid and mean; but those rays of personal sunshine are the crack addiction that keeps us running on the insane gerbil wheel of life.

    You are one of my personal rays of sunshine. So I say we find a porch to sit upon, mix up some cocktails and give the passerbys what for as we laugh ourselves into our old age.

     
  8. Shrewspeaks

    November 18, 2008 at 3:15 pm

    PS- name the comedian I was impersonating

     
  9. music maven

    November 18, 2008 at 8:54 pm

     
  10. Shrewspeaks

    November 18, 2008 at 9:07 pm

     
  11. amy

    November 19, 2008 at 10:29 am

    Walmart eggrolls!!!! D, they are soooo good! I absolutely abhor Wally world, but endure the madness that is corporate America for the sake of their delicious low-fat shrimp egg rolls!

    So funny there are other people that share my walmart eggroll fetish! I will miss seeing my beloved Dee Dee tonight. Take good care of my hubby for me:)

     
  12. music maven

    November 19, 2008 at 4:43 pm

    No worries, Ames. We’ll send him back to you in one piece.

    SHREW!! I heart Eddie. Da best.

     
  13. Jenny Ann Johnson

    November 19, 2008 at 8:58 pm

    Don’t allow the outside to steal your joy! You have everything you need on the inside and by pulling from within you are able to be balanced and share your loving spirit. Joyce Meyer can always whip you back into shape…

    Life is Go(o)d so enjoy it…

     
  14. hickifino

    November 21, 2008 at 7:21 pm

    Two little rays of sunshine! How perfect to put life into perspective!

     

Leave a Reply

 
