RSS

Music Maven’s Grammy Rundown

08 Feb

grammy1

Admittedly, The Grammys do not thrill me.  Unfortunately, moguls like Clive Davis’ seeming influence into the awards over the last few years leaves me very skeptical as to the nominations and the winners.

I mean, WHERE is Amos Lee?  Ray LaMontagne? 

However, in the spirit of Music comraderie, I made my own Grammy picks.  Personally, I think that they could cut out 2/3 of the categories and cut this puppy down to a half-hour show….but, whatever.  Here are the 2009 Music Maven Grammy picks.

Record of the year

  Please Read the Letter, Alison Krauss & Robert Plant

Mainly because Coldplay’s Viva La Vida is so over-played.

Album of the Year

Because of their revolutionary, “name your price” sales strategy….

  In Rainbows, Radiohead — Videotape track

Song of the Year

Only one choice for me…loved her from the start.  Remember, she debuted her 12-song DC (rather than CD) for $6.99 on iTunes.

  Love Song, Sara Bareilles

Best New Artist

For her ’60s vibe….

  Mercy, Duffy

If Katy Perry’s I Kissed a Girl wins anythings, I will never turn on a radio again.

In the Best Male Pop Vocal Performance category, I’m seriously torn between James Taylor’s Witchita Lineman and John Mayer’s thoroughly emotional Say, from The Bucket List.   However, I’m going to have to go with Sweet Baby James on this one.  The Glen Campbell kun-NECK-shun is just too strong.  The best song lyric of all time:

…and I want you more than need you, and I want you for all time.

‘Nuff said.

  Witchita Lineman, James Taylor

(Besides, Say wins a MM Grammy in another category — see below.)

Which, given the choices, leads me to Best Pop Album — JT’s Covers.  I was convinced by Seminole Wind and Not Fade Away.

I was intrigued by the nominations within the Best Solo Rock Vocal Performance (who comes up with these categories?) pitting Sir Paul McCartney’s Amoeba Record performance I Saw Her Standing There against John Mayer’s Gravity performance from Where the Light Is.  While I have great affinity for McCartney, the Where the Light Is video is superb and Gravity is one of my all-time favorite songs.  Therefore, the award goes to….

  Gravity, John Mayer

The only performance in the R&B categories that I feel is worry of any award is Wayne Brady’s Change is Gonna Come.  Yes, Wayne Brady of Who’s Line is it, Anyway? fame.

  A Change Gonna Come, Wayne Brady

However, I’d like to see Jennifer Hudson win a Grammy, just because she is that good and she deserves it.  Note:  she is the only American Idol alum nominated this year.

In the Country categories, only two nominations piqued my interest.  Brad Paisley’s nomination for Letter to Me in the Best Country Song category and The Del McCoury Band’s nomination for Best Bluegrass AlbumLive at the New Orleans Jazz & Heritage Festival.  Love me some Del…

  Nashville Cats, Del McCoury Band

John Mayer’s Say is a lock for the Best Song Written for a Motion Picture.  I love this song, music & lyrics.

  Say, from The Bucket List, John Mayer

Miscellaneous Other favorites:

Best Traditional Gospel Album, Down in New Orleans, The Blind Boys of Alabama

Best Traditional Blues Album, Pinetop Perkins & Friends, 95 year old Pinetop Perkins, with a line-up of Blues royalty.

Best Contemporary Blues Album — THREE New Orleans acts; Dr. John, Irma Thomas and Marcia Ball.  Can they simply split a Grammy?

And, finally the BIG category….Best Zydeco or Cajun Album….drum roll please……

Music Maven picks……

  Steve Riley & The Mamou Playboys

 

 

 

Tags:

33 responses to “Music Maven’s Grammy Rundown

  1. music maven

    February 8, 2009 at 8:08 pm

    Ok, I don’t want to live blog, BUT I HAVE to comment.

    U-2’s new song sucks.

    Whitney has evidently re-lapsed. What was the Clyde lovefest? Please girl.

    J-HUD takes the first award!!! YES!

     
  2. music maven

    February 8, 2009 at 8:11 pm

    What does “The Rock” have to do with music?

    Uh, no on the Katy Perry reference…

    McCartney is there with his new honey.

    OMG, he just mentioned Neil Diamond and Lil’ Wayne in the same breath.

    And now, the Grammy King…Justin Timberlake…loser.

     
  3. music maven

    February 8, 2009 at 8:14 pm

    Right. Justin Timberlake knew about Take Me to the River when he was prancin’ around with Britney on the Mickey Mouse Club. The boy is dissing Memphis. He is sinking like a rock.

    Please just let Reverand Al perform by himself. But no, he can’t help himself. I so want to kick Justin in the crotch.

    …times are good or bad, happy or sad….

     
  4. music maven

    February 8, 2009 at 8:16 pm

    Unbelievable how this kid (jt) tries to hog the limelight. I give him the small jt because he can’t measure the JT of James Taylor.

    Go home, Justin. Damn.

    Robert Plant and Alison Krause in the house.

    Ugh…Miley Cyrus and Taylor Swift, together….coming up.

     
  5. music maven

    February 8, 2009 at 8:26 pm

    CBS makes hay with the dude from The Mentalist introducting Coldplay, who was just on 60 Minutes. Am I the only one who sees the connection here?

    Chris Martin sings and plays piano and then Jay Z joins him to rap. WTF?

    Where is the rest of Coldplay?….ah, here they come. Extended set to get in the song played a trillion times on terrestial radio and otherwise…Viva la Vida.

     
  6. music maven

    February 8, 2009 at 8:30 pm

    Puffy likes it.

    Keith Urban, outback cowboy, introduces Gene Autry is the Hall of Fame winner. Three people clap.

    And now, Carrie Underwood trying to get a little jiggy wid it. She is so blah. Dang girl. The back up singer girl and the guitar player is more into it. Oh Lord, the mosh pit again. Y’all this is bad. Really bad. Is she wearing a skort?

     
  7. music maven

    February 8, 2009 at 8:35 pm

    Sheryl Crowe & LeeAnn Rimes extolling Brenda Lee (who I love, BTW) as she is receiving the Lifetime Achievement Award. That’s it. Gene Autry gets into the Hall of Fame and Brenda Lee gets the Lifetime Achievement Award and they get ONE sentence. Nice.

    Best Country Performance – Stay by Sugarland. All their songs sound the same.

    Back to Brenda Lee, while they’re freakin’ out up there…no I’m Sorry or Rockin’ Around the Christmas Tree?

    Travesty.

     
  8. music maven

    February 8, 2009 at 8:37 pm

    Oh, you can upload your version of Katy Perry’s I Kissed a Girl, if you can perfect the like-ted it part. The winner will be picked on The CBS Morning Show. Harry Smith to perform. (I keed.)

    Bio-break… brb.

     
  9. music maven

    February 8, 2009 at 8:47 pm

    Adele and Rev. Green sing a little Moon River and Bridge Over Troubled Water before announcing Song of the Year. Why? I have no idea, I was in the kitchen.

    Quelle suprise. Coldpay, Viva La Vida.

    I almost made a Sgt. Pepper reference before, but thought I’d be kind. They do it for me.

    And now, that ball of talent, Kid Rock….talking about starving, soldiers dying, and then, Amen?

    Another “protest” song. pfft.

    then, he breaks into the Sweet Home Alabama song for about 15 seconds and then some real rock. All in all, I have to say the Kid has some skillz.

     
  10. music maven

    February 8, 2009 at 8:53 pm

    John Mayer in the house. Where is Jennifer?

    What?!? Justin is going to perform again? Man, do these guys pimp him or what? Is he even nominated for ANYTHING tonight. GO AWAY, jt.

    There are more commercials on this thing. Holy cow. Pull those and it’s an hour show.

    I check the news…Chris Brown is being investigated for attacking some girl. Rihanna cancels her performance. Rut row.

     
  11. music maven

    February 8, 2009 at 8:58 pm

    Back with Taylor Swift and Miley Cyrus. Every ‘tween can now get to bed…it’s a school night.

    These young girls do have big voices. Not a bad song. Fifteen? Not sure.

    Miley is just a wee bit dramatic. But…they were actually good. Love fest insues. “You are the best.” “No, no YOU are.”

    Pop Collaboration…oh jt’s category. I so hope he does NOT win.

    …and the winner is…

    ROBERT PLANT & ALISON KRAUSE!!!

    Yes!!! Justice.

     
  12. music maven

    February 8, 2009 at 9:04 pm

    Man, Alison Krause is anorexic. She can’t way 75 pounds. And she takes the award without ONE word.

    Jennifer Hudson singing up now. Out of the darkness. Can’t imagine what’s in her mind. She is also thin, but not 75 pounds. Big voice, so natural. Beautiful.

    The mandatory gospel choir appears….dang, girl, that ruined it for me.

    Standing O. Jamie Foxx sending love. Nicole Kidman cries. J-HUD’s got some courage.

    Pimpin’ jt again…

     
  13. music maven

    February 8, 2009 at 9:14 pm

    Oh lord, The Jonas Brothers AND Stevie Wonder. At least Stevie still has more Grammy performances that jt.

    What crap this is. How can Stevie associate himself with this? Really. Who signed this deal? Somebody owed somebody BIG.

    Ok, the tall one is gay. NTTAWWT.

    …and into Superstitous. OMG, he doesn’t know the words. Seriously? Well, at least we know it’s not lip-synched.

    …I am nauseous.

     
  14. music maven

    February 8, 2009 at 9:17 pm

    Blink 182 up next. They’re back together. Rock awards.

    Best Rock Album….guess?

    ColdPlay. From the front row. It’s their year. Even Chris is sorta, WTF, we’re really not rock. Why no thanking Gwyneth? or at least Apple? dang.

    ANOTHER commercial…unfortunatlely, Katy Perry is coming up…

    I need a glass of wine…I certainly have plenty of time.

     
  15. music maven

    February 8, 2009 at 9:35 pm

    Craig Ferguson is so not funny. Lesbians are totally awesome…his intro to Katy Perry. She descends in a huge banana. Ok, if you want to be taken seriously, why do the 21st Centrury version of Carmen Miranda?

    Fruit salad. There’s gotta be some symbolism in all of this. This is terrible. Worse than I could have imagined.

    Mercifully over.

    10 time Grammy winner, Kanye West. There’s all kind of wrong with that statement. He performs with Mary J. Blige, but she’s not introduced or mentioned. She has a good jazz vibe. He is a mediocre rapper.

    Best New Artist….Kanye laments that they never won it.

    And, Adele wins. Ok. Chewin’ a cud. Man.

    We do to commerical AGAIN…with the promise of a Rap Summit. Oh, I’m getting sleepy…may miss that.

     
  16. music maven

    February 8, 2009 at 9:43 pm

    Morgan Freeman up next to introduce, “America’s biggest ticket seller in any genre”…..his friend, Kenny Chesney.

    Sweet Kenny. Alone in spotlight, singing Better As a Memory. At least it’s real music. Nice.

    Did you know that Kenny is like 5′ 3″? No matter, great entertainer.

    P. Diddy, Natalie Cole and Herbie Hancock.

    Record of the Year….c’mon no Leona Lewis….

    YES!!! MM’s pick of Please Read the Letter. T-Bone Burnett….brilliant. Robert Plant is comfortable in Nash Vegas.

    again to commercial…jeez.

     
  17. music maven

    February 8, 2009 at 9:59 pm

    Queen Latifah….Talking about Dean Martin and having to ask for a hand…oh, the travesty. Dean gets the Lifetime Achievement Award with the new “Rat Pack”…the Rap Pack.

    But first, M.I.A. big and pregnant with ill-advised polka dots. And, here they are. Kanye, Lil’ Wayne, Jay Z and some other crotch grabber that I can’t name nor want to. Sorry, I just don’t get it.

    How long does this last? Oh please let M.I.A.’s water break.

    Was Chris Martin booing?

    Kate Beckinsale introduces a guy who came with three friends from Liverpool….

    SIR PAUL….

    I’m so excited (me too)

    Singing I Saw Her Standin’ There

    Sir Paul still rocks it. School these peeps, Paul. Where is Ringo?

    Bringing back good times. I wonder how many of the audience actually KNOW this song? I wonder what John would say?

    45 years since he first set foot in America and he’s still the best act in the house.

     
  18. music maven

    February 8, 2009 at 10:14 pm

    Ok. Why is John Mayer not performing?

    Jack Black & Charlie Hayden…Jack’s hat is four sizes too small. Wait….Charlie is Jack’s father-in-law? Wow.

    Hank Jones gets a Lifetime Achievement Award and all of 4 seconds.

    Best Male Pop Vocal….SAY!!!! WOOOO!!! JM

    And the screen goes black. Back…whew.

    He’s so cute. No JT, but it’s ok if JM wins.

    Jay Mahr is so unfunny. These guys are bombing.

    LL Cool J introduces Sugarland and Adele….interesting combination. The Sugarland chick has such a pure voice. Effortless. Where’s Adele? Must follow Sugarland.

    Yep. Why does Adele sound like Edith Piaf to me?

    Sorry. Not on the Adele bandwagon.

     
  19. music maven

    February 8, 2009 at 10:27 pm

    Mrs. Chris Martin, a/k/a Gwyneth introduces the most influencial, adventurous, and thoroughly artistic group of all time….utterly brilliant Radiohead with the USC Marching Band?

    Hmmmm.

    Ok….I’m awake. I swear.

    And, just announced!!! jt and T-I will be performing. Great.

    …back after the break….more wine…not morewines, just more wine.

     
  20. music maven

    February 8, 2009 at 10:34 pm

    Samuel L. — SHAFT…up next to tell the “people of Earth” it’s time to pull together to make beautiful music together. He has man love for jt….who comes on with T.I.

    Please, kill me now. Is this music? Is that a hat or T.I.’s hair?

    There’s all kind of wrong with this….violins?

    MAKE. IT. STOP.

    Has to be 10 minutes long. Interesting line to end the **ahem** song:

    “Character will take you places, money can’t.”

     
  21. music maven

    February 8, 2009 at 10:42 pm

    Wait. Obama won a Grammy? Oh for the written word reading of his books.

    Yes, We Can…go to hell Internet peeps. Open plea to our President for Secretary of the Arts. Yeah. Put jt in there. Please.

    Get the hook on this dude. Introduces Smokey Robinson.

    The Smoke. 10 facelifts later.

    Grammy Lifetime Achievement Award. The Four Tops.

    Now, I don’t begrudge the Four Tops, but what about the other LA winners? No mention.

    Jamie Foxx and Smokey and Ne-Yo joine soul survivor of The Four Tops to “reach out”

    Smokey still rawks.

    Sir Paul approves. Jordin Sparks is sitting right behind Sir Paul.

     
  22. music maven

    February 8, 2009 at 10:51 pm

    Josh Groban introduces, so good…..Neil Diamond!!!!

    WOOO

    SWEET CAROLINE!!!

    Crazy-eyed Neil sachets around the stage. Everyone yells at “so good, so good, so good” at the top of their lungs. Good stuff.

    Out into the audience. He’s got some thin pins.

    ….reaching out…touching me, touching you

    Now, THAT was worth the price of admission. I hope Michael Paul is watching.

     
  23. music maven

    February 8, 2009 at 10:56 pm

    Mr. D wakes up from his nap on the sofa…”What’s this show?”

    Oh, just a little music special called THE GRAMMYS.

    All of the “lesser” Grammys flash on the screen. Better stuff there than the headliners.

    JO STAFFORD. Yes.

    Bo Diddley…where for art though, Bo.

    B.B.!!!! Buddy Guy!!! John Mayer!!! Keith Urbin!!!

    Now THAT was GREAT!!! Oh how I love dose men.

     
  24. music maven

    February 8, 2009 at 11:12 pm

    Gary Sinise…talking about New Orleans…and Hurricane Katriana woes….man. Oh, Lil’ Wayne connection…with Allen Toussaint and Robin Thicke.

    Robin’s really starting to look like his Dad, Allen.

    Lil’ Wayne is “moving on” by showing Katrina videos. Please. New Orleans is doing just fine. If you want to help NOLA, visit and spend some money.

    Is he wearing an Alabama hat? OMG? WTF? And, singing for New Orleans? That’s whack.

    GEAUX, Allen….The girls gonna second line….

    NOLA tribute done.

    will.i.am. and T-Pain?, congratulate Obama…

    Who is this guy? Best Rap Album… I seriously could care less.

    Lil’ Wayne, of course.

     
  25. music maven

    February 8, 2009 at 11:28 pm

    Zoe Deshanel introduces Robert Plant & Alison Krause, with T-Bone Burnett on guitar. Now, this is music.

    Smart to save this for last.

    LOVE Gone, Gone, Gone

    Now THAT is an iconic performance.

    Green Day (they’re still alive) to present Album of the Year — final Grammy of the night, but not without announcing Rick Rubin as Producer of the Year, first.

    ….and the winner is…..Raising Sand, Robert Plant & Alison Krause. YES!!! WOOO!!! Great night for the realz music.

    Is Plant a little concerned about “selling out”? Jimmy Page is gone, dude. If you’re going to be relevant, Alison Krause is the best way to do so without “selling out”.

    Good way to end…all about the music.

    Stevie Wonder takes us out……………….G’nite.

     
  26. little Deb

    February 9, 2009 at 8:53 am

    Thanks for that MM. If you were in my living room we would have been saying the same things to each other. So glad someone else thinks the new U2 song sucks. Why couldn’t they let The Rev. Green sing his own song without that little – blech. Carrie was not good. I couldn’t understand any of the words to that song. And “skorts” – love that. I remember those. Stevie Wonder and the Jonas Brothers was just all kinds of wrong. Have to admit that I went to bed shortly after that. Thanks for finishing the show here for me. Yey for Raising Sand. Maybe there’s still hope………………………

    Extra thanks for the Wayne Brady song. I had no idea he had an album out. Hope he gets a music career out of that. I loved him on Whose Line.

     
  27. JenAdams

    February 9, 2009 at 6:32 pm

    Music Maven Watches the Grammys So You Don’t Have To! I love it. I did not watch, and it sounds like I am just as happy. I want to say thanks too for the Wayne Brady clip. He is so talented! Never heard that recording, it is beautiful!

     
  28. thedingoateyobaby

    February 10, 2009 at 10:05 am

    I have always loved “Witchita Lineman”. Its a haunting melody and though Im not a big Glen Campbell fan I downloaded his version a few years back. Its a great song and Im very happy to hear James Taylor cover it. He did a beautiful job. That song makes me weep.

    I actually semi enjoyed the Grammy’s this year and hope has been ignited in me that just maybe we can get back to the music. Real music.

     
  29. little Deb

    February 10, 2009 at 6:29 pm

    Hi dingo! Jimmy Webb (wrote Wichita) is IMO a songwriting genius. MM could definitely do a post on his songs.

    In the hopes that you stop back here, and in the interest of real music, I’m sidetracking this topic for a moment. For some reason I think you do or would like this guy. He was second runner up on AGT. I recently purchased his self titled album and love most of it. He wrote all of the songs on it except two. I bought it on Amazon. Here are my two favorites. No video, but the music is the studio versions.

    Eli Mattson – All I’ll Be

    Seven (Lacy Lee)

    He wrote both.

    MM, please delete this if you want to. But give him a listen first🙂

     
  30. thedingoateyobaby

    February 11, 2009 at 9:09 am

    Hey Deb!! How nice to hear from you. I did listen and he has a great voice and yes, I remember him. I thought he sounded a little like Elton at times. I love that raspiness and you remembered.

    I didnt know Webb wrote Witchita Lineman! Yes you are right, genius is the word.

    Im pretty sure it was you who told me about a song that Buffet did called A Pirate Turns 40. I was never much of a Buffet fan but that song just did it for me. When I hear it I think of you, strange isnt it. I have a few other songs that I was “turned on to” in that same time frame about 2-3 years ago from people I have never heard from again and I am so thankful. Including DD.

     
  31. itsallgrey

    February 11, 2009 at 1:04 pm

    I love Eli Mattson’s voice. Too bad he hasn’t really gotten much farther than he was after America’s Got Talent. He has a quality to his voice that is unique.

    Great writeup, MM. I was laughing and nodding my head remembering…

     
  32. colette

    February 15, 2009 at 8:23 pm

    wow, Eli Mattson has a wonderful voice, thanks for the recommendation. So hard to get anywhere in music these days, even with talent and some TV exposure….but he’s young! there’s hope!

     
  33. Cheap James Taylor Tickets

    February 18, 2009 at 2:41 am

    I have always loved “Witchita Lineman”. I want to say thanks too for the Wayne Brady clip. He is so talented! Never heard that recording, it is beautiful!

     

Leave a Reply

 
