RSS

You ARE the Best Thing….

15 Feb
al-window2

Mr. D watching his grandson be baptized

 

I was in the grocery store the other day, running around like a chicken and trying to gather up all we needed for the week.  Don’ t you just hate when you remember that you need garlic and you’re already over in the dairy section.  I’m constantly criss-crossing the store, it seems.

It’s usually during these mundane tasks that some totally inspiring music jumps in and stops me in my tracks.  So was the case this day, while I’m doing the Winn Dixie shuffle.  Strains of Gladys Knight’s iconic hit You’re the Best Thing That Ever Happened to Me comes on over the supermarket speakers.  As I listen and sing along (yeah, I do that alot), I start to apply the song to my own life — where it just so happens to be particularly relevant.

You see, I’m one of the lucky ones.  Fortunate, privaledged, serendipitous….whatever you use to categorize blessed. 

Many, many Valentines Days ago, my sweet Mr. D professed his undying love.  Why?  I have no earthly idea, but I’m eternally grateful that he did — and that he chose me.     We are partners, friends, lovers and contemporaries.  I thoroughly enjoy my life with this odd human being.

From his professional ironing skillz to the love of musicals to the deep love he shows his sons…I still remain in awe of this wonderful, loving man who just happens to love me.

So, when I heard Gladys’ You’re the Best Thing (That Ever Happened to Me) in that mundane grocery store moment, I realized just how perfectly that song captures exactly how I feel about my wonderful man. 

I’ve had my share of life’s ups and downs
But fate’s been kind, the downs have been few
I guess you could say that I’ve been lucky
Well, I guess you could say that it’s all because of you

If anyone should ever write my life story
For whatever reason there might be
Ooh, you’ll be there between each line of pain and glory
‘Cause you’re the best thing that ever happened to me
Ah, you’re the best thing that ever happened to me

Oh, there have been times when times were hard
But always somehow I made it, I made it through
‘Cause for every moment that I’ve spent hurting
There was a moment that I spent, ah, just loving you

If anyone should ever write my life story
For whatever reason there might be
Oh, you’ll be there between each line of pain and glory
‘Cause you’re the best thing that ever happened to me
Oh, you’re the best thing that ever happened to me
I know, you’re the best thing, oh, that ever happened to me

  You’re the Best Thing (That Ever Happened to Me), Gladys Knight & The Pips

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 15, 2009 in family, holidays

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “You ARE the Best Thing….

  1. amy

    February 16, 2009 at 5:49 pm

    Great post! I share A LOT of those sentiments for my deClouet!
    “From his professional ironing skillz “……..what is it about these men??!!! I haven’t ironed in 10 years! (and I’m sooo not complaining!) I love the pic of Mr. D! You are quite the pho-tog!
    Have a great week honey:)

     
  2. thedingoateyobaby

    February 20, 2009 at 11:27 am

    >>Many, many Valentines Days ago, my sweet Mr. D professed his undying love. Why? I have no earthly idea, but I’m eternally grateful that he did — and that he chose me. We are partners, friends, lovers and contemporaries. I thoroughly enjoy my life with this odd human being.>>

    That made me cry a little, in a good way. That is what its about, finding that one person who makes you feel that way and I dont believe he “chose” you DD, I think that a wonderful man like this found, via fate, a wonderful woman like you to spend the rest of his life with. So much of our lives is about fate and not choice imo. If you can find that serendipitous moment just once in a lifetime, consider yourself blessed.

    The song from Gladys Knight always makes me cry and gives me bumps for the same reason I suspect. It tells the story of our lives.

    You kids enjoy the ride and never forget that its unpredictable.

     

Leave a Reply

 
