RSS

A Going Jessie

12 Jun

Just when I thought (again) that I knew every intricate corner of Mr. D’s mind, he surprises me again.  Reminiscient of my discovery of his penchant for musicals, he made a comment yesterday that the recent “green shoots” in the stock market are a “going Jessie”.

What?!? 

I know a lot of useless information, including historical slang, but had NEVER heard this phrase before.  While I understand the context, I had no idea of the origin.  So, after a good laugh and conversation with Mr. D regarding where he picked up said phrase (that he has NEVER used in our 21 years together), I did what I do best….GOOGLED IT.

What I found surprised me.  Seems that She’s a Going Jessie was a Rockabilly tune in 1956, by Andy Starr:

According to Mr. D, a “going Jessie” is something that is consistently moving in a certain di-RECK-shun.  Now, I’m not sure what came first, the saying or the song, but it’s safe to say that 8 year old Mr. D. likely picked up the saying from the song.  Go figure.  Along with playing “Lone Ranger” and “Green Beret”, he picked up “going Jessie” somewhere along the way.

THAT, is what I absolutely adore about the man.  After 20 years, he still surprises me.

Today, I took the day off to enjoy the day with my musical loving, golf-playing, totally hot, fisherman extraordinnaire husband. 

I can’t think of a better way to spend the day.  After all, he’s quite a “going Jessie”….

IMG_3957

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 12, 2009 in family, that's life, the river

 

Tags: , ,

One response to “A Going Jessie

  1. huckleberryfriend

    June 12, 2009 at 7:37 am

    Is this a ripoff of the melody from Blue Suede Shoes or what?

     

Leave a Reply

 
