RSS

Filled with Glee

28 Aug

glee

All I can say is….wonderful.

The programming geniuses at Fox have a knack for finding talented, new programs and then “pimp” them behind perennial ratings buster American Idol.  Hit shows like House, 24 and Lie to Me have shared the coveted spot following ‘Idol’ and I doubt that they would have been as readily accepted if they had debuted on Thursday nights.  The Fox guys use the golden Tuesday night time slot to showcase their next new “thing”.  Well, Glee certainly fits the bill.  Click here to watch via Hulu.

Glee is Fame meets Friday Night Lights meets Welcom Back Kotter and is pure fun.  In an unrealistic world of blue-eyed, blonde bombshells and muscle-bound pretty boys who portray the “perfect” Americans on most shows, Glee brings Geek America to the forefront.  Let’s face it, more people relate to the Geeks than the Greeks, right?  Of course, Glee puts our motley crew in the starring rolls (for once) and makes the audience root for the underdog — one of their favorite pastimes.

Fox was smart to take advantage of the ‘Idol’ season to debut it’s next hit, however the season will not continue until the fall (when ‘Idol’ is on hiatus).  They were also brilliant in putting a musical show after a musical show that millions of tweens and teens watch.  I’m betting that middle schools and high schools across the nation are buzzing about Glee this morning.  My prediction is that ALOT of people will be talking about Glee come the fall.

Here is an extended trailer….tell me you cannot identify with SOMEONE in these scenes.

My identification with the show and it’s characters isn’t so much through my own experiences and it is through my kid’s.  It is excruiating to watch your child be pushed aside or left behind.  The worst is seeing them made fun of because they aren’t tall or they aren’t thin or they aren’t rich…especially when you know the wonderful soul that resides in that imperfect body.  That’s what I like most about Glee.  That it will showcase the normal, brave kids who risk and overcome by throwin their talent into the spotlight and getting their voices heard.

Bravo.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on August 28, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

6 responses to “Filled with Glee

  1. AH

    May 21, 2009 at 8:46 am

    Thanks to you and Shrew I caught the opening episode of Glee.
    Agree completely on the Fame and Kotter references . . ‘fraid don’t know Friday Night Lights.
    Watch very little TV but will definitely watch this . . love at first viewing !

     
  2. little Deb

    May 21, 2009 at 5:25 pm

    Damn, I forgot to record it. Will be watching next week for sure. I love that kind of show.

     
  3. music maven

    May 21, 2009 at 6:47 pm

    LD — It won’t be on again until the fall season. However, with Hulu’s plan to suck your brain, it is available for viewing….

    http://www.hulu.com/videos/search?query=glee

    Think I’ll add that to the post.

     
  4. JenAdams

    May 21, 2009 at 8:45 pm

    Hi MM – I watched and I loved it too. The music was fun, and it certainly brought back all the good and bad memories of high school drama club! I agree with the FNL conneck-shun! (did I spell that right for ya?) And I love me some FNL.

     
  5. kanniduba

    August 30, 2009 at 8:09 pm

    Yep…I’m a Gleek.😉

     
  6. karma

    September 7, 2009 at 6:56 pm

    I just watched the repeat of the preview this past weekend. I didn’t catch it in May. I think I could get “sucked in” by this show! I’m going to set the DVR to record the new episodes, which I believe begin this Wednesday, Sept. 9.

    Hey how come the original comments from this post are from May but it looks like this post was made on Aug. 28?

     

Leave a Reply

 
