RSS

When Harry Met Sally….Jack & Diane

06 Jan

Pick your clever song or film reference for the new celebrity romance of MEG RYAN and JOHN “COUGAR” MELLENCAMP?!?!?!

"...two American kids doin' the best they can"

I did not see that one coming.  

For me, this is right up there on the level of

Eddie Van Halen & Valerie Bertinelli

Gwyneth Paltrow & Chris Martin

Jennifer Anniston & John Mayer

Heather Locklear & Tommy Lee

Julia Roberts & Lyle Lovett

I really don’t “get” these romances.  Are they real?  How do they meet?  How do they all fit in one bed?  I mean, a man, a woman and two HUGE egos can get crowded.

Anyway, back to the celebromance du jour.  I know that I am a cynic, but I have always thought that Meg Ryan is not the apple pie, sweet girl next door that she plays in every movie she’s been in.  Besides, I LOVE Dennis Quaid and I think there was more to that story than we were privy to.  (Can you say Russell Crowe?) 

And, John Mellencamp?  Well, while his music brings back great high school memories, I always thought he was a bit of a tool when he feigned selective amensia regarding the toolish “Cougar” adjective that he threw around in the 70s and 80s and the way he’s tried to be the Midwestern Bruce Springsteen.

 

3 responses to “When Harry Met Sally….Jack & Diane

  1. kanniduba

    January 6, 2011 at 10:20 am

    Bizarro indeed.

     
  2. amy d

    January 7, 2011 at 12:39 pm

    I was going to reference Russell as well, but you beat me to the punch! Meg annoys me…she’s a homewrecker! And her repertoire of romantic comedies (Harry & Sally excluded) makes me barf!

    I mean how do you leave Elaine Irwin for Meg Ryan???!!! It boggles the mind D!

    Your thoughts on the recently defunct romance of Taylor and Jake? I’m sure the details of it will be the next TS hit annoying the crap out of me on the radio!

     
  3. music maven

    January 7, 2011 at 2:44 pm

    Yeah, I’m thinking that Meggie is bit too “free spirited”. There’s just something about her…like she hates dogs and old people, or something. (Tin Cup reference)

    As for Jaylor, it seems that Miss Swift continues to go after men that are destined to dump her. And just how does a guy go from a grown up Mommy like Reese Witherspoon to a neophyte like Taylor Swift, unless it’s for the obvious? Think she would have learned when John Mayer stomped on her little naive heart like a cockroach.

    It seems as though PopEater has the same thoughts on TS’ next audio confession — http://www.popeater.com/2011/01/07/taylor-swift-jake-gyllenhaal-song/?a_dgi=aolshare_twitter

    For me, Taylor Swift is on the same level as Miley Cyrus. It’ll only be a matter of time until they’re all in rehab…maybe with Dr. Drew!

     

Leave a Reply

 
