RSS

Commercial Music

21 Jan

I’ve found some really great musical gems from TV Commercials lately. Either I’m watching too much TV or the creators are not your father’s Mad Men. Here’s a few of my recent favorites:

Powerful Stuff, Sean Hayes – Subaru

Love, Matt White – McDonald’s McRib

Say Hey (I Love You), Michael Franti & Speerhead – Corona

Hey Soul Sister, Train – Samsung 3D TV

Morning Sun, Shayna Zaid & The Catch – Ford Edge

So, does putting interesting and/or appealing music really sell more product? I say it doesn’t hurt and it prohibits me from turning the channel when I hear it come on…so it is certainly creating awareness for these advertisers. And in the advertising business, that is key. Plus, it gives exposure to new artists that might not ever be “discovered”.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on January 21, 2011 in Emerging Artists, Marketing, soundtracks, TV

 

3 responses to “Commercial Music

  1. wompuss

    January 22, 2011 at 9:52 am

    LOVE love love Soul Sister…did you see Glee’s version?

     
  2. music maven

    January 22, 2011 at 11:34 am

    I did. I’m kinda over the whole Glee thing, but I catch it on Hulu or other places sometimes. I thought Chris Colfer’s rendition of “Baby, It’s Cold Outside” with that smokin’ hot little gay dude was outstanding. He is brilliant.

     
  3. amy d

    January 26, 2011 at 11:38 am

    Train…Hate! That soul sister song shall forever be burned into my skull. I swear it’s the worst song of the decade.

    I’ve noticed Vampire Weekend on a few commercials lately which was very cool. Their song “Holiday” was on a car commercial around…you guessed it…the Holidays;) It was still fab though.

     

Leave a Reply

 
