RSS

A Moment of Silence

12 Sep

9/11.

Synonymous with tragedy, evil, sacrifice, loss, love and hope.

10 years ago, I was working at a large bank in Memphis and driving into the parking lot when I first “heard”. Never thought that we’d have that Pearl Harbor “moment” in my lifetime, but here it was and of course, I remember.

I actually spent my Sunday on the water in the boat with my husband and it was a glorious day. I just couldn’t watch the whole funeral again. However, this morning I saw this…

For me, THIS was the PERFECT tribute. Funny how a song written nearly 50 years ago in the wake of a different tragedy could so amply provide comfort all these years later and be so relevant. That’s what music is, no? A talisman that provides clarity of the emotion that allows people from all walks of life to experience the intention of the writer at the moment of hearing it.

Extrememly fitting that New Yorker Paul Simon delivered the most inspiring moment of “The Rememberance.” Carrie Fisher must be proud.

 
 

3 responses to “A Moment of Silence

  1. shrewspeaks

    September 12, 2011 at 8:15 am

    I just happened to catch this moment too. It is the perfect balance of comfort and solemnity. I will now forever link the song with 9/11.

    On a less serious not…is it me or does Paul Simon and Mayor Bloomberg look like brothers?

     
  2. music maven

    September 12, 2011 at 10:05 am

    No joke! I saw Bloomberg during Irene coverage and was expecting to hear “Me and Julio, down by the schoolyard.” 🙂

     
  3. Sally

    September 16, 2011 at 2:44 pm

    I didn’t see this until I read your post but it will now be forever linked with 9/11 in my memory. The other song that is irrevocably part of my 9/11 memories is I Won’t Stand Down by Tom Petty. When he performed it in the week after 9/11 at the benefit for the victims it gave me strength. Funny how music can do that huh?

     

Leave a comment